Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Blogpen


May 2015
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
— Our Blogs and Nothing But Our Blogs

Hall of Merit: Troy Glaus and Garret Anderson

Eligible in 2016

DL from MN Posted: January 04, 2015 at 03:35 PM | 14 comment(s)
  Related News:

Hall of Merit: Jason Kendall

Eligible in 2016

DL from MN Posted: January 04, 2015 at 03:35 PM | 23 comment(s)
  Related News:

SABR - BBTF Chapter: SABR 45 Call for Abstracts

45 years of research presentations, and still so much we don’t know…

SABR invites all members to present their research findings to their colleagues attending SABR45. Oral presentations are expected to last 20 minutes, followed by a five minute question-and-answer period. Posters will be presented, with the author on-hand to discuss the work, during a poster session of 90 or so minutes, and will probably remain on display throughout the convention.

Through on-site judging, the most ...

Mike Emeigh Posted: January 02, 2015 at 11:59 AM | 6 comment(s)
  Related News:

Hall of Merit: Trevor Hoffman and Billy Wagner

Eligible in 2016

DL from MN Posted: December 23, 2014 at 11:07 AM | 85 comment(s)
  Related News:

Hall of Merit: Mock 2015 Hall of Fame Ballot

2015 BBTF Hall of Fame Ballot

IMPORTANT: Please read:

This election should follow BBWAA rules, not Hall of Merit rules. However, we hope to see only players that each voter feels belong on their ballots. Leaving 1st-year candidates off your ballot is also frowned upon. IOW, we would like to see an absence of some of the silliness that permeates Hall of Fame voting by the writers.

The election will end Monday on Jan 5th 2015 (4 PM EST). Results will be posted a short time later.

Please ...

DL from MN Posted: December 23, 2014 at 10:33 AM | 113 comment(s)
  Related News:

Hall of Merit: 2015 Election Results - Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez & Curt Schilling elected to the Hall of Merit!

Congratulations to the Class of 2015! Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and Curt Schilling have been elected to the Hall of Merit.

The election was dominated by pitchers. In addition to the top 3, Mike Mussina was a strong 4th, followed closely by John Smoltz. Gary Sheffield and Sammy Sosa were 6th and 7th, both with enough support that their eventual election looks inevitable.

Moving further into the backlog Kenny Lofton, Buddy Bell, Jeff Kent, Luis Tiant, Ben Taylor and Vic Willis round out the ...

Joey Numbaz (Scruff) Posted: December 22, 2014 at 09:19 PM | 34 comment(s)
  Related News:

Hall of Merit: Most Meritorious Player: 1960 Ballot

For 1960, each voter should rank their top 10 players from both leagues combined.

Balloting is scheduled to close at 4pm EDT on 7 January 2015.

Anyone can vote, even if you do not normally participate in Hall of Merit discussions. If have never participated in an MMP election, just post a preliminary ballot in the discussion thread by 5 January 2015.

For detailed rules see one of our previous ballots.

DL from MN Posted: December 15, 2014 at 01:09 PM | 19 comment(s)
  Related News:

Hall of Merit: Most Meritorious Player: 1901 Discussion

Most Meritorious Player: 1901 Discussion

Going back to the first season of the American League because next year is the pre-integration committee vote.

No World Series yet so no postseason consideration. I could use help locating Negro Leaguers to consider. 1901 was really sketchy for Negro League statistics and even consistent barnstorming teams. The Cuban X Giants and Chicago Union Giants were active. I believe Frank Grant, Charlie Grant, Grant Johnson and Rube Foster are from this era.

...
DL from MN Posted: December 09, 2014 at 02:54 PM | 39 comment(s)
  Related News:

Jim's Lab Notes: Recent Updates and Turning off Advertisements

As you may have noticed, I’ve been working on the server and making some software updates. The downtime was required so I can move forward with some of the things on my off-season to-do list. I hope the outages didn’t inconvenience you too much.

First up on my to-do list was setting things up so I could turn off advertising for those of you who generously donated to support the site in 2014. Although automating the process is still on my list, I have turned off advertising on accounts that ...

Jim Furtado Posted: December 07, 2014 at 01:37 PM | 55 comment(s)
  Related News:

Hall of Merit: Most Meritorious Player: 2014 Results

Congratulations to Mike Trout on his 3rd consecutive MMP award.

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Mike Trout	118	8	6
Clayton Kershaw	87	8	2
Andr McCutchen	84	8	0
Giancar Stanton	74	7	0
Josh Donaldson	71	7	0
Jonathan Lucroy	68	7	0
Mich Brantley	58	8	0
Corey Kluber	57	7	0
Adrian Beltre	42	6	0
Robinson Cano	40	5	0
Felix Hernandez	36	5	0
Jose Bautista	35	7	0
Jose Altuve	26	4	0
Russell Martin	21	3	0
Anthony Rendon	20	4	0
Kyle Seager	20	4	0
Jose Abreu	17	4	0
Buster Posey	17	3	0
Johnny Cueto	11	2	0
Adam ...
DL from MN Posted: December 05, 2014 at 03:14 PM | 7 comment(s)
  Related News:

Page 3 of 136 pages  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  Last › | Features Archive | Site Archive


BBTF Partner

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Don Malcolm
for his generous support.

Hot Topics

Page rendered in 0.8715 seconds
55 querie(s) executed

Page rendered in 0.8715 seconds
55 querie(s) executed