Members: Login | Register | Feedback
 
   
Retouching bases
Posted: 30 June 2006 05:49 AM   [ Ignore ]
Avatar

Why do baserunners go back to their base after every pitch and foul ball, even if nobody is covering that base?  It seems so automatic that I thought it was a rule, but I’ve never heard of such a thing, or understand why it’d be a rule.

 Signature 

bRd

Posted: 30 June 2006 06:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]

It is a rule on foul balls. Rule 5.09(e) directs that after a foul ball that is not caught, “The umpire shall not put the ball in play until all runners have retouched their bases.”

Posted: 01 July 2006 12:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Avatar

Well done.  Thanks, ess eff.

 Signature 

bRd

   
 
‹‹ In-season winex numbers      Pitch counts ››