Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

btf_logo
You are here > Home > Gonfalon Cubs > Discussion
Gonfalon Cubs
— Cubs Baseball for Thinking Fans

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

Page 2 of 3 pages  < 1 2 3 > 
   101. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 10, 2012 at 03:30 PM (#4128474)
3rd to last, and they're really close to a tie with 13th, not last.

WSN 3.40 
CHC 3.39
SDP 3.19
PIT 2.90 


That of course isn't to say the offense hasn't been bad.
   102. McCoy Posted: May 12, 2012 at 12:20 AM (#4130043)
Dale sucks.
   103. Brian C Posted: May 12, 2012 at 12:59 PM (#4130220)
Looks like Marmol to the DL, and Coleman up. Makes sense, I guess, because the Cubs need a guy who can throw multiple innings with the depleted bullpen today, and while I don't like Coleman, he's a reasonable long-relief candidate in a pinch.
   104. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 12, 2012 at 02:28 PM (#4130250)
Coleman was lights out his last AAA start. He still sucks, but that's something.

McCoy, I'm confused by the Sveum hatred, what is this based on? In limited sample size, I've become a big fan. I think his alignments are playing a sizable role in our league best defensive efficiency.
   105. McCoy Posted: May 12, 2012 at 02:38 PM (#4130255)
Bad managerial decisions.

Rays Shifts
   106. McCoy Posted: May 12, 2012 at 02:53 PM (#4130262)
Right now the Cubs' pitchers have a .225/.265 line on groundballs. Last year for the whole season they had a .256/.278 line on groundballs. So right now the 2012 Cubs have "saved" 11 hits but only saved 5 total bases. The real big difference between this year and last year are on the flyball and linedrive numbers. Last year teams had a 1.673 and .810 OPS against on line drives and flyballs. This year they have a 1.388 and a .687 OPS against on those same type of hits. But one noticeable thing the Cubs have been poor at this year so far is on bunts. Teams have a .923 OPS against the Cubs on bunts.
   107. McCoy Posted: May 12, 2012 at 03:07 PM (#4130270)
PS: It looks like the last two games is going to be putting quite a dent in those flyball/line drive numbers.
   108. McCoy Posted: May 12, 2012 at 03:48 PM (#4130293)
Looked at it by starter/reliever for the Cubs. Fortunately as of right now no starter has pitched in relief and no reliever has started so it is easy to parse the data.

The starters have a .214/.248 against on groundballs.

The relievers have a .252/.306 against on groundballs.

Flyballs:
Starters: .210/.500
Relievers: .176/.490

Linedrives:
Starters: .574/.766
Relievers: .600/.864

I'd say a lot of the credit for the Cubs' defense should go to the Cubs' starters.
   109. McCoy Posted: May 13, 2012 at 02:44 PM (#4130650)
Since starting this series against the Brewers the Cubs have dropped their defensive efficiency from .722 to .717 and are now in third place in the NL.
   110. Brian C Posted: May 13, 2012 at 06:24 PM (#4130765)
Wow, five whole points. Man the lifeboats, obviously the ship is going down.
   111. McCoy Posted: May 13, 2012 at 06:33 PM (#4130771)
The 5 points of defensive efficiency was the thing that tipped you off? Not the dreadful record, or the dreadful bullpen, or the dreadful offense?

   112. SteveM. Posted: May 13, 2012 at 08:47 PM (#4130819)
I don't care about the record so much as we all knew this was a rebuilding year. The performances of Garza, Dempster, Jeff S. while Malholm hasn't been terrible. Volsted is crap so I am hoping they bring up Travis Wood again. The bullpen outside of Dolis and Russell is also crap. I like that Theo is not afraid to move players like Byrd when he can. Until mid-season when we see Jackson and Rizzo move into the lineup. I suspect by the end of the season Soto will also have been moved in favor of a Clevinger/Castillo platoon. Despite his heroics today, unless a fire is lit under Ian Stewart's ass, the Cubs will look for a younger and cheaper 3B. This team will look far different come September in the field.
   113. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 13, 2012 at 10:38 PM (#4130847)
Thanks for the numbers McCoy, I don't really understand why credit for the Cubs defense should go to the Cubs starters. If you could talk to me like I'm an idiot to explain it, I'd appreciate it.
   114. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 13, 2012 at 10:43 PM (#4130848)
No snark on that, btw, I'd seriously like to hear more on it.

Re: Stewart, it's been touched on a few times on here. His luck on balls in play is so terrible it's stopped being funny. He has a .210 BABIP with a 19.5 LD% (Heading into today. With normal luck, he's league average.
   115. Brian C Posted: May 13, 2012 at 11:05 PM (#4130853)
Thanks for the numbers McCoy, I don't really understand why credit for the Cubs defense should go to the Cubs starters.

I didn't understand this either, since outcomes on grounders would be a pretty straightforward application of BAbip, which doesn't have much of anything to do with who is pitching.
   116. McCoy Posted: May 13, 2012 at 11:08 PM (#4130855)
Well, that's odd. Doesn't have much of anything to do with who is pitching? Is this 2001?
   117. McCoy Posted: May 13, 2012 at 11:35 PM (#4130863)
If a pitcher gives up more groundballs and or gives up less line drives his BABIP will be lower than somehow who gives up less groundballs and or more line drives.

This year the team has induced slightly more groundballs and allowed slightly less line drives so far than they did all of last year. Doing this will produce better results. Starters as a percentage of total types of hits have induced a far greater % of their balls in play as grounders than the relievers have. 47% to 39% or 51% to 42% if you want to include bunts as well. The flipside of that is thus starters have given up fewer linedrives as a % of their total type of hits than relievers. 16.6% to 21%.

Now then for all their shimmying and shammying around the diamond with their precious shifts they've only kept 11 grounders from turning into hits this year as compared to all of last year's ratios but have only prevented 5 total bases as compared to last year's ratios. Though last year's team only allowed 12 ROE through their first 33 games while the Cubs have allowed 16 ROE. So the difference is even smaller than 11 hits and 5 bases.
   118. Brian C Posted: May 13, 2012 at 11:45 PM (#4130865)
If a pitcher gives up more groundballs and or gives up less line drives his BABIP will be lower than somehow who gives up less groundballs and or more line drives.

Well, here's what's happened so far this year for the starters:

Name - GB/FB, LD%, BAbip (BAbip on GB)

Maholm - 1.36, 10%, .214 (.197)
Volstad - 1.06, 16%, .311 (.290)
Samardzija - 1.02, 14%, .311 (.269)
Garza - 0.85, 15%, .227 (.146)
Dempster - 0.58, 28%, .221 (.094)

Maybe we can just credit Dempster for the defensive improvement.
   119. McCoy Posted: May 13, 2012 at 11:57 PM (#4130868)
If I add today's ROE it is 17 ROE to 12 ROE. Have to wait until BRef updates to update the rest. Also of note 4 of the 12 from last year came in one game with 3 of them happening in one inning!
   120. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 14, 2012 at 12:39 PM (#4131064)
Correct me if I'm wrong, but haven't the Cubs defensive numbers been better beyond defensive efficiency. I didn't think efficiency was the # Brian has been posting in the game threads. Are those derived from efficiency?
   121. McCoy Posted: May 14, 2012 at 12:47 PM (#4131073)
I believe he has been posting BRef's version of DefEff which tries to factor in errors.

Baseball Info Solutions' DRS sees the Cubs as 6 runs above average overall which I believe is a distant second in the NL so far this year. It looks to me like Sean Smith's Total Zone numbers might just be broken on BRef right now so I don't know how reliable they are. They have the Marlins at something like 146 runs above average right now.
   122. McCoy Posted: May 14, 2012 at 09:48 PM (#4131502)
Dale sucks!
   123. McCoy Posted: May 14, 2012 at 10:26 PM (#4131577)
Bring back Don Baylor, please!
   124. McCoy Posted: May 15, 2012 at 12:04 PM (#4131829)
Defensive Efficiency is now down to .715.

Groundballs are now at .229/.273. Which means that so far this year 11 more groundballs have been scooped up for hits as compared to last year's rates but the Cubs have only saved 2 total bases. Plus the Cubs have 5 more ROE than they did last year at this point in time.

Doesn't really seem like all these shifts are doing much.
   125. Brian C Posted: May 15, 2012 at 12:18 PM (#4131853)
You'd have to factor in lineouts, too, to get a full picture.

And the outfielders shift, too, so I'm not sure why you're so hung up on just grounders.
   126. McCoy Posted: May 15, 2012 at 12:22 PM (#4131863)
You really think the shifts in the outfield amount to all that much? It isn't like they are employing Lou Boudreau 1947 vs Ted Williams shifts out in the outfield.

The infield is the area that shifts the most and is the most extreme at it and yet they have been largely ineffective and quite possibly their shifts have cost them runs. Even if it turns out that outfield shifting has saved runs it doesn't mean that the infield shifting is doing well or that we can ignore the results of infield shifting.


PS: As for lineouts I'll work on that and report back.
   127. McCoy Posted: May 15, 2012 at 12:33 PM (#4131872)
One thing to note about line outs is that it is impossible to note how many line drives got through because the shift was in place and how many line drives were turned into outs because of the shift.
   128. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 15, 2012 at 12:44 PM (#4131885)
I think a big reason for Soriano putting up off the charts defensive #s (beyond SSS) is the positioning in the OF. I'm not sure if it was here I read it or elsewhere, but as simple as saying, hey Alfonso, you suck at going backwards, how about you play back 10 feet.
   129. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 15, 2012 at 12:54 PM (#4131896)
As always through 35 games, SSS caveats apply, but fangraphs has them across the board good-great. (With the exception of RZR, but that would make sense with the large # of Out of Zone plays tallied)



   130. McCoy Posted: May 15, 2012 at 12:55 PM (#4131897)
Of the 64 lineouts we can remove all lineouts from outfielders. I'm just looking at infielders right now. We can also remove lineouts to pitchers, that is unless someone wants to argue that the pitcher doesn't stay on the rubber when pitching because of the shift. I would also say we can remove lineouts to first basemen since it isn't like they are going to set up behind second base because of the shift.

What does that leave? 18 lineouts caught by SS, 2B, or 3B. So 28% of all lineouts were caught by those fielders. Last year those fielders caught 37% of all lineouts plus they fielded 2 other line drives but committed an error on the play which would bump the % up slightly. So on the surface it doesn't appear that the infielders are getting to more line drives either.
   131. McCoy Posted: May 15, 2012 at 01:09 PM (#4131921)
As always through 35 games, SSS caveats apply, but fangraphs has them across the board good-great

DRS has them at +6 runs so far which is pretty good and UZR has them at almost +11 runs which is pretty good but of course doesn't factor in catching which DRS says has not been very good so far for the Cubs. Last year they were at -43 runs and were led by Aramis and Starlin at -18 and -10 runs. Soriano last year was at -9.

This year Stewart is looking to be a big improvement over Aramis in terms of defense (going from almost negative two wins to simply average) and Castro's defense has improved. Soriano's defense according to DRS is on pace to improve tremendously. From -9 to +19 over a full season. I think that has more to do with simply getting Soriano to play deeper than anything else plus I have no idea if he can keep it up.

Barney is getting more playing time at second which means the weaker defenders like Baker and DeWitt are getting less time there. DeJesus, Campana, and Johnson are in the outfield instead of Byrd and Fukudome.
   132. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 15, 2012 at 01:43 PM (#4131955)
Concepcion finally has a good game. Throws 6 scoreless striking out 3, walking 3.
   133. Brian C Posted: May 15, 2012 at 01:43 PM (#4131957)
Mike MacDougal signed to a minor league deal.
   134. Brian C Posted: May 15, 2012 at 02:12 PM (#4132006)
This year Stewart is looking to be a big improvement over Aramis in terms of defense (going from almost negative two wins to simply average) and Castro's defense has improved.

So I'm confused - you're saying that Stewart's a big defensive upgrade, that Castro is improved, and that the infield defense has benefitted from playing Barney more.

But you're also saying that there's been virtually no difference in outcomes on grounders or lineouts in the infield. So what's left? Is all this improvement coming from increased efficiency on pop-ups?

EDIT: That sounds snarkier than I intended but I meant it as a serious question.
   135. McCoy Posted: May 15, 2012 at 02:35 PM (#4132035)
I'm not saying any of that. I was giving a recap of what DRS has for the Cubs this year and last year.

The Cubs don't really appear to be doing that much better of a job if better at all in snagging groundballs. Where the Cubs are doing better at is in line drives and flyballs and I don't really know how much of that is because of the positioning of fielders and how much of that is because we have different fielders and pitchers. For instance pitchers have only allowed one homer on 164 line drives which is about twice as good as the Cubs pitcher's rate was last year and flyball home runs are off by about a third this year. Looks to me like the pitchers are inducing a lot more weaker contact than they did last year.
   136. McCoy Posted: May 15, 2012 at 06:03 PM (#4132284)
Looked to me like the today's game winning hit for Molina happened because the Cubs had the shift on.
   137. Brian C Posted: May 15, 2012 at 11:06 PM (#4132491)
Ack wrong thread.
   138. McCoy Posted: May 16, 2012 at 10:32 AM (#4132715)
.235/.279 now on groundballs. Defensive Efficiency down to .712.
   139. Brian C Posted: May 16, 2012 at 08:11 PM (#4133409)
Lendy Castillo to 15-day DL; Maine up.

DeWitt outrighted to Iowa.
   140. McCoy Posted: May 16, 2012 at 11:22 PM (#4133642)
LaHair's streak ends tonight despite the fact that he did reach base via a ROE. Seems rather silly.
   141. McCoy Posted: May 16, 2012 at 11:31 PM (#4133646)
By my count the Phillies were 6/14 with 2 doubles and a ROE on groundballs and bunts.

So far this year the Cubs on groundballs and bunts are at .248/.294 with 18 ROE. Last year they did .259/.280 and they had 12 ROE by this point.
   142. McCoy Posted: May 17, 2012 at 12:13 AM (#4133657)
I went ahead and compared the first 36 games of this year to the first 36 games of last year.

Groundballs and bunts:
2011: .247/.259 12 ROE in 413 at bats
2012: .243/.280 17 ROE in 445 at bats

So the Cub pitchers have induced 32 more grounders this year than they did last year but the defense and their shifts haven't done a better job converting those groundballs into outs. The difference between the two so far is that the 2011 team with their rates would have given up 2 more hits, 12 less total bases, and 5 less ROE so far. Really doesn't look like the shifts are an improvement over regular defense at all.
   143. McCoy Posted: May 17, 2012 at 01:15 AM (#4133669)
Lefties are 7 for 11 on bunts against the Cubs.
   144. McCoy Posted: May 17, 2012 at 11:51 AM (#4133885)
Defensive Efficiency now at .710
   145. Brian C Posted: May 17, 2012 at 07:17 PM (#4134318)
I missed the news the other day, but the Cubs got their PTBNL from the Marlon Byrd trade, pitcher Hunter Cervenka. Doesn't look like he's very good.
   146. Brian C Posted: May 17, 2012 at 07:35 PM (#4134345)
Also, Scott Maine must have kicked Hoyer's dog after the game last night, because he's been sent down and Blake Parker's been called up.
   147. Pops Freshenmeyer Posted: May 17, 2012 at 07:38 PM (#4134348)
I missed the news the other day, but the Cubs got their PTBNL from the Marlon Byrd trade, pitcher Hunter Cervenka. Doesn't look like he's very good.

Apparently he's very low in work ethic and very high in greed.
   148. McCoy Posted: May 17, 2012 at 07:42 PM (#4134356)
Really odd that the Cubs can decide that quickly that Maine is not the answer and yet the Cubs routinely give the call to relievers who are most assuredly not the answer either.
   149. Brian C Posted: May 18, 2012 at 01:08 PM (#4135015)
Soto looks like he's heading to the DL. Interesting timing, in that Clevenger isn't ready to come back yet, so it'll probably mean we get to see Blake Lalli in the big leagues, which I would not have expected to ever happen. And even though he's essentially the Cubs' fourth-string catcher, and is a 29-year-old non-prospect who only this year made his AAA debut and isn't even a real catcher anyway, he'll probably still be better than Koyie Hill.
   150. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 18, 2012 at 01:17 PM (#4135021)
Lalli has a 503 OPS in Iowa. I think Castillo is going to get the Koyie Hill 2009 treatment where he starts every game with Soto on the Dl.
   151. Brian C Posted: May 18, 2012 at 01:22 PM (#4135025)
Yes, well, "not playing" still makes him better than Koyie Hill.
   152. McCoy Posted: May 18, 2012 at 02:25 PM (#4135091)
Hopefull Castillo continues on his hot streak and really shows the Cubs he deserves to be un the majors. I really want him to do well. I would love to be able to look back at this era and say that the Cubs were a catching factory at this time.
   153. McCoy Posted: May 18, 2012 at 02:35 PM (#4135103)
Cubs are at .252/.296 on groundballs and bunts with 19 ROE which if those weren't counted as outs it would be .292/.336. Not very good at all. Defensive efficiency is dropping like a stone. It is now at .705 and the Cubs have fallen to 4th place in the NL. Just a short time ago they were at .722 and they had 6 DRS and I think it was 36 runs according to Total Zone. DRS is now down to 3 and TZ is at 32.
   154. zonk Posted: May 18, 2012 at 02:50 PM (#4135124)
Really odd that the Cubs can decide that quickly that Maine is not the answer and yet the Cubs routinely give the call to relievers who are most assuredly not the answer either.


Mike MacDougal is a kind of answer... unfortunately, the question is "Which has-been reliever who was never very good to begin with makes absolutely no sense to sign?"
   155. Brian C Posted: May 18, 2012 at 02:56 PM (#4135128)
Mike MacDougal is a kind of answer... unfortunately, the question is "Which has-been reliever who was never very good to begin with makes absolutely no sense to sign?"

The odds of him ever pitching for the (Chicago) Cubs are very small. He makes sense to sign if you just need someone to fill a roster spot in AAA. Every team has guys like him in their organizations, just for that reason.
   156. McCoy Posted: May 18, 2012 at 03:40 PM (#4135176)
The odds of him ever pitching for the (Chicago) Cubs are very small.

Are you sure about that? Wood will be gone after today. Marmol might stay on the DL, get cut or get traded at some point. Dale doesn't look impressed with Bowden so far. I doubt Parker is going to be up here for long. Volstad has been sent down. There just isn't a lot of sure fire gonna stay on the staff all year long candidates up on the roster right now and there isn't much down in the minors either.
   157. Brian C Posted: May 18, 2012 at 04:53 PM (#4135301)
He walked 4 guys in 0.2 IP in his first appearance for Iowa, so it's not looking so good for him at the moment.
   158. Brian C Posted: May 18, 2012 at 04:56 PM (#4135305)
oops
   159. McCoy Posted: May 19, 2012 at 02:54 PM (#4135799)
Koyie Hill is back with the team and will be with the team tonight.
   160. VoodooR Posted: May 19, 2012 at 03:42 PM (#4135825)
Castillo with an MCL sprain that may keep him out for a week. Koyie Hill acquired from the Reds for cash considerations.
   161. VoodooR Posted: May 19, 2012 at 03:56 PM (#4135831)
Supposedly, after Koyie Hill signed with the Cardinals this offseason (he was later released and picked up by the Reds), Ryan Dempster said (wrote on Twitter?) "“The Cardinals just signed Koyie Hill. So we just got better.”

Awkward.

Hill has put up this line so far this year at AA Pensacola 195/230/341 (44 AB)
   162. Kiko Sakata Posted: May 19, 2012 at 04:01 PM (#4135837)
Supposedly, after Koyie Hill signed with the Cardinals this offseason (he was later released and picked up by the Reds), Ryan Dempster said (wrote on Twitter?) "“The Cardinals just signed Koyie Hill. So we just got better.”


Wow, that seems harsh. I assumed Koyie Hill at least had the "good clubhouse guy" and/or "calls a good game" intangible thing going for him. Because otherwise, I'm baffled that he's even still in the league. His career OPS+ (50) is worse than Jeff Mathis's (51).
   163. Kiko Sakata Posted: May 19, 2012 at 05:44 PM (#4135963)
By the way, Carrie Muskat tweeted "Sveum says Koyie Hill will do most of catching". Sveum seems more and more like Mike Quade with playing experience. Jim Essian once again comes to mind.
   164. McCoy Posted: May 19, 2012 at 06:52 PM (#4136015)
Well, who else besides Hill is available to catch right now? It's either Hill or have Lalli do it for a week. Now if Castillo comes back in a week and his healthy and is still the back up then something is wrong and if Clevenger comes back and they still keep Hill on the 25 man while sending a healthy Castillo down then something is seriously wrong.
   165. McCoy Posted: May 19, 2012 at 06:56 PM (#4136017)
Wow, that seems harsh.

I believe Dempster was cracking a joke about his friend.
   166. Kiko Sakata Posted: May 19, 2012 at 06:57 PM (#4136019)
I didn't realize Castillo was hurt. My mistake, then. Having Koyie Hill as your 4th catcher (given that Clevenger's also hurt) is fine as far as it goes.
   167. VoodooR Posted: May 19, 2012 at 07:03 PM (#4136022)
I believe Dempster was cracking a joke about his friend.


Sounds possible, though I hadn't thought of that. Do you have any evidence this is so, or just a hunch?
   168. McCoy Posted: May 19, 2012 at 08:27 PM (#4136057)
Carrie Muskat says they are.
   169. McCoy Posted: May 19, 2012 at 09:53 PM (#4136118)
I think the magic pixie dust is beginning to wear off the Cubs' starting pitchers.
   170. Brian C Posted: May 20, 2012 at 01:32 AM (#4136205)
Dempster was due for a correction, though. Check out the numbers I posted for him in #118.

BPJ was still pretty good yesterday. Frankly, I'm much more worried about the bullpen than the rotation. The rotation's still keeping them in games, or at least they would be if the offense could score with any consistency.
   171. McCoy Posted: May 21, 2012 at 11:23 AM (#4136779)
Travis Wood to start against Houston. Rizzo will probably be up in time for the series in Minnesota in early June and Clevenger is to start is rehab stint in Iowa.+
   172. Moses Taylor, Moses Taylor Posted: May 21, 2012 at 11:49 AM (#4136800)
Rizzo will probably be up in time for the series in Minnesota in early June

I am a little concerned how Dale will divvy up the playing time. I've given him the benefit of the doubt so far, and various things I've disagreed with (bullpen usage, batting order, etc) haven't fully formed my opinion of him yet. But this could go a long way towards how I evaluate him.
   173. McCoy Posted: May 21, 2012 at 12:22 PM (#4136827)
So who after 41 games has done the most to help the Cubs win games according to BRef WAR?

Answer: Darwin Barney at 1.7 WAR!
   174. McCoy Posted: May 21, 2012 at 12:23 PM (#4136829)
Barney according to BRef has been better on offense and defense than Starlin Castro! So we have two potential superstars in the making!
   175. McCoy Posted: May 21, 2012 at 11:35 PM (#4137475)
Cubs suck.
   176. zonk Posted: May 22, 2012 at 11:34 AM (#4137693)
How am I ever going to Jurickson Profar if Garza pitches like that against Houston?
   177. Brian C Posted: May 22, 2012 at 12:00 PM (#4137709)
So Travis Wood has to be added to the roster today, any guesses what the corresponding move will be? I guess that Parker is the obvious choice if he looks like he's unavailable for the next couple days. But they only have 11 pitchers, so if he's OK, I'd guess that he stays.

If Clevenger looks like he'll be back soon, they might just DL Castillo.

Otherwise, I dunno.
   178. McCoy Posted: May 22, 2012 at 12:05 PM (#4137710)
It looks like Castillo might be ready pretty soon. I would also guess that Parker is the odd man out with Wood coming up today.
   179. Brian C Posted: May 22, 2012 at 12:14 PM (#4137715)
Maybe they'll surprise us and demote Dolis, who doesn't look like a major league pitcher to me. Nine strikeouts in 24 IP, yikes. And for a sinkerballer, he doesn't even get all that many grounders.

Or maybe that's coming later, when Marmol is activated. I don't see Dolis going the whole year without a AAA stint, though.
   180. zonk Posted: May 22, 2012 at 12:34 PM (#4137734)
Fortunately, not much need for a closer when you're always losing...
   181. Brian C Posted: May 22, 2012 at 06:54 PM (#4138088)
So, Castillo to the DL after all.
   182. SouthSideRyan Posted: May 23, 2012 at 10:47 AM (#4138468)
I don't like this season.
   183. McCoy Posted: May 23, 2012 at 10:52 AM (#4138470)
But what about the joy of seeing Castro become a great player that was supposed to hold us over until the Cubs are good again?
   184. Hack Wilson Posted: May 23, 2012 at 11:53 AM (#4138526)
Darwin Barney at 1.7 WAR!


WAR sucks. Sveum sucks. Hoyer sucks. Theo sucks.

I am trying not to let this season depress me, how am I doing?
   185. Pops Freshenmeyer Posted: May 28, 2012 at 10:00 AM (#4141581)
WAR sucks. Sveum sucks. Hoyer sucks. Theo sucks.

Just think about how great the 2013 draft pick is going to be!

The Twins really need to heat up soon.
   186. Kiko Sakata Posted: May 28, 2012 at 01:43 PM (#4141665)
Or maybe [they'll .. demote Dolis] later, when Marmol is activated. I don't see Dolis going the whole year without a AAA stint, though.


This apparently just happened. I don't understand what they saw in Dolis that made them think "closer". It was hard enough to see what they saw that made them think "major-league pitcher".
   187. Brian C Posted: May 29, 2012 at 02:06 PM (#4142191)
Clevenger activated, Lalli to AAA.
   188. Pops Freshenmeyer Posted: May 31, 2012 at 09:40 PM (#4144805)
Clevenger has an OPS+ of 238 right now (27 PA). Small sample size be damned, he was working on his second consecutive year with an OPS over 1.000 in Iowa. Let's see what he can do with regular playing time in MLB.
   189. McCoy Posted: May 31, 2012 at 10:43 PM (#4144845)
I know you said SSS be damned but we are only talking about 112 PA here. I'm guessing that Clevenger is going to level out at a .700 hitter-best case scenario level out that is.
   190. Pops Freshenmeyer Posted: May 31, 2012 at 10:50 PM (#4144850)
Heh, didn't see that his 2011 was less than 100 PAs. I'm also thinking of his age (26) when I suggest it's time to see if he's worth anything at the major league level.
   191. SouthSideRyan Posted: June 01, 2012 at 12:54 PM (#4145151)
Well the alternative is Mordecai right now, so I imagine Clevenger will get some the majority of the starts until Castillo or Soto come back.
   192. McCoy Posted: June 01, 2012 at 01:20 PM (#4145184)
Cubs had a good May. Their winning % was 22 points better than their April winning %.
   193. zonk Posted: June 01, 2012 at 03:12 PM (#4145356)
So, I hate to pay the compliment...

But in the Youk thread, looked it up and damn -- Soriano actually had a really, really fine May. No one's touching him without the Cubs eating almost everything left on that deal, but at least he might have worked himself back into the realm of "OK, we take him for a bag of balls so long as you pay virtually all of the contract". As of the end of April, I don't think he would have even fetched that.
   194. SouthSideRyan Posted: June 01, 2012 at 04:18 PM (#4145420)
Why do you hate to pay the compliment? Soriano's just old and broken down, there's no reason to hate the person.
   195. Moses Taylor, Moses Taylor Posted: June 01, 2012 at 04:24 PM (#4145425)
####, it's June. I guess we need a new one of these.

Someone remind me on Monday morning...
   196. Dan The Mediocre Posted: June 01, 2012 at 05:56 PM (#4145519)
Cubs had a good May. Their winning % was 22 points better than their April winning %.


Their April was so bad that May included a 12 game losing streak and it still had a better record.
   197. Brian C Posted: June 01, 2012 at 06:27 PM (#4145559)
They claimed Jairo Asencio off waivers from CLE today and DFA'd Bowden. Bowden's been pretty bad but I'd have guessed he'd get a longer look than 9.2 IP.
   198. McCoy Posted: June 03, 2012 at 03:37 PM (#4146921)
Month 2?
   199. McCoy Posted: June 04, 2012 at 07:51 PM (#4148255)
Almora to the Cubs.

Cardenas is in a tough spot right now. He's basically blocked at SS/2B and appears to be a butcher at 3B so Dale is PH him to death. What's weird is that when he does get a hit it is usually a double.
   200. McCoy Posted: June 06, 2012 at 12:18 PM (#4149791)
Almora looks to play hardball over his signing. His "advisor" is Scott Boras and he is making noise that he'll go to University of Miami this fall.


In other news Alfonso Soriano is batting .282/.352/.600 over his last 30 games.
Page 2 of 3 pages  < 1 2 3 > 

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.

 

 

<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Support BBTF

donate

Thanks to
Don Malcolm
for his generous support.

Bookmarks

You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.

Hot Topics

First Half Summary and Trade Rumor Thread
(309 - 4:18pm, Sep 06)
Last: McCoy

Month 1 in Review
(207 - 3:01pm, Jun 25)
Last: Spahn Insane

Season Preview 2012
(160 - 2:15pm, Apr 30)
Last: SouthSideRyan

I Am Fine with This
(56 - 11:36am, Jan 22)
Last: McCoy

GM Candidates
(84 - 4:15pm, Oct 24)
Last: SouthSideRyan

Fearless Predictions for the 2011 Cubs Season
(31 - 7:19pm, Aug 25)
Last: McCoy

Predicting the Opening Day 25 Man Roster
(17 - 11:03pm, Feb 27)
Last: The Keith Law Blog Blah Blah (battlekow)

Some Offseason Cubs Linkage...
(21 - 9:32pm, Feb 14)
Last: SouthSideRyan

Premature Postmortem
(18 - 2:48pm, Sep 27)
Last: Cabbage

Ugh, July
(26 - 4:29pm, Sep 04)
Last: McCoy

Lou to retire at the end of the year
(41 - 8:09pm, Jul 22)
Last: Brian C

June, the month of doom
(55 - 11:27pm, Jul 10)
Last: McCoy

25 Fearless Predictions for the 2010 Cubs Season
(52 - 11:59pm, Jul 03)
Last: RollingWave

Should I Stay or Should I Go?
(29 - 8:50pm, Jun 29)
Last: The Original SJ

The Silva Situation
(24 - 4:40pm, Jun 13)
Last: McCoy

Syndicate

Page rendered in 0.6059 seconds
57 querie(s) executed