77 1972 Billy Hoeft-P 3/16/10

77 1973 Bob Shaw-P 9/22/10

72 1982 Mike Cuellar-P 4/2/10

69 1982 Willie Davis-CF 3/9/10

65 1990 Jim Bibby-P 2/16/10

Upcoming Candidate

37 2011 Jose Lima-SP 5/23/10

Thanks, Dan!

John (You Can Call Me Grandma) Murphy Posted: December 01, 2009 at 08:48 PM | 335 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

Page 2 of 4 pages  < 1 2 3 4 > 
   101. Mike Emeigh Posted: December 05, 2009 at 04:17 AM (#3404044)
Applying it historically would require a study of the evolution of bullpen usage over time

... which, coincidentally, I've been doing for the last 18 months or so.

-- MWE
   102. fra paolo Posted: December 05, 2009 at 04:36 PM (#3404243)
Mike, roughly when did the 'fireman' emerge as a bullpen feature? And when did the Fireman Era end? Who was The Last Fireman?

Isn't the distinguishing characteristic of the modern era that relievers are brought in at the start of innings?
   103. sunnyday2 Posted: December 05, 2009 at 06:28 PM (#3404340)
Isn't the distinguishing characteristic of the modern era that relievers are brought in at the start of innings?

I'm sure that's one of them, but the bigger would be that roles are defined by the inning in which you pitch, rather than by how much "trouble" there is.
   104. fra paolo Posted: December 05, 2009 at 11:22 PM (#3404528)
I made a stab at trying to answer my 'Last Fireman' question myself. Mike has posted some data about blown leads in Primate Studies. Sorting it by number of times a pitcher was brought in with a lead, and by those leads lost after the first inning of work puts Lee Smith as the latest man chronologically near the top of both.