Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Sunday, August 28, 2005

The Negro Leagues Home Page

Links to commentary on Negro League candidates:

Newt Allen

Sam Bankhead

John Beckwith (elected in 1957)

Cool Papa Bell (elected in 1973)

Chet Brewer

Dave Brown

Ray Brown (elected in 1955)

Willard Brown (elected in 1976)

Pee Wee Butts

Bill Byrd

Pelayo Chacon

Oscar Charleston (elected in 1943)

Bus Clarkson

Andy Cooper

Ray Dandridge

Piper Davis

Leon Day

Bingo DeMoss

Martin Dihigo (elected in 1950)

John Donaldson

Luke Easter

Bobby Estalella

Rube Foster (elected 1932)

Willie Foster (elected in 1945)

Josh Gibson (elected in 1952)

Charlie Grant

Frank Grant (elected in 1926)

Pete Hill (elected in 1927)

Sammy T. Hughes

Monte Irvin (elected in 1962)

Sam Jethroe

Connie Johnson

Heavy Johnson

Home Run Johnson (elected 1925)

Judy Johnson

Slim Jones

Buck Leonard (elected in 1955)

John Henry Lloyd (elected 1935)

Dick Lundy (elected in 2008)

Jimmy Lyons

Biz Mackey (elected in 1975)

David Malarcher

Max Manning

Oliver Marcelle

Luis Marquez

Leroy Matlock

José Méndez (elected in 1985)

Bill Monroe

Dobie Moore (elected in 1991)

Alejandro Oms (elected in 2006)

Buck O’Neil

Satchel Paige (elected in 1959)

Bruce Petway

Spottswood Poles

Double Duty Radcliffe

Cannonball Dick Redding

Bullet Rogan (elected 1940)

Louis Santop (elected in 1932)

George Scales

George Shively

Chino Smith

Hilton Smith

Turkey Stearnes (elected in 1946)

Mule Suttles (elected in 1956)

Ben Taylor

Clint Thomas

Jules Thomas

Cristóbal Torriente (elected in 1937)

Quincy Trouppe (elected in 1995)

Willie Wells (elected in 1954)

Chaney White

Sol White

Marvin Williams

Smokey Joe Williams (elected in 1936)

Artie Wilson

Jud Wilson (elected in 1948)

Nip Winters

Bill Wright

John (You Can Call Me Grandma) Murphy Posted: August 28, 2005 at 10:22 PM | 0 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Support BBTF


Thanks to
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.

Hot Topics

Most Meritorious Player: 1902 Ballot
(8 - 10:39am, Mar 03)
Last: EricC

2016 Hall of Merit Ballot Discussion
(84 - 9:44pm, Mar 01)
Last: Kiko Sakata

Most Meritorious Player: 1902 Discussion
(36 - 10:05pm, Feb 26)
Last: TomH

Larry Doyle
(66 - 10:20am, Feb 20)
Last: Kiko Sakata

Jason Kendall
(23 - 9:13am, Feb 18)
Last: Bourbon Samurai

Troy Glaus and Garret Anderson
(13 - 10:27am, Feb 07)
Last: Ziggy

Most Meritorious Player: 1901 Results
(3 - 1:00pm, Feb 06)
Last: Chris Fluit

Most Meritorious Player: 1901 Ballot
(21 - 12:01pm, Feb 05)
Last: DL from MN

The Baseball Hall of Merit Plaque Room: Home Page
(1465 - 1:08pm, Feb 03)
Last: HGM

Vic Power
(8 - 3:51pm, Feb 02)
Last: The District Attorney

Ken Griffey Jr.
(49 - 8:40am, Feb 02)
Last: thok

Manny Ramirez
(15 - 7:31pm, Jan 28)
Last: theboyqueen

Toby Harrah
(15 - 2:32am, Jan 28)
Last: Ardo

Tommy John
(17 - 2:20am, Jan 28)
Last: Ardo

Wally Schang
(12 - 1:40am, Jan 28)
Last: Ardo


Page rendered in 0.1871 seconds
41 querie(s) executed