Go to end of page
Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.
Page 1 of 3 pages
In looking at the rule, there's 24 hours you have to make the report. In the circumstances, I think, it just didn't make sense for that to take place.
Former Cardinal manager disallows the protest.
The umpires circled the wagons and all stood behind the call.
The purpose of the IFR is to prevent a fielder not catching it and turning a ground ball double play. So perhas it shouldn't be an IF if teh ball is so deep into the OF that a GBDP is unlikely.
I read the thread before I saw the call, so I figured the SS was racing after the ball, rather than meandering back under it as he was. While the call was made too late* and a little deeper than usual, the call itself was fine. That's a perfectly legitimate use of the infield fly rule.**
I thought the infield-fly rule was to "protect" runners from being doubled off by an intentionally dropped fly ball, which in this special case was not given.
in this case, when Kozma camped under it and waved his arms.
Any play where the left fielder and shortstop could potentially collide kind of fails the definition of "ordinary effort". Also "infield".
Rule 2.00 (Infield Fly) further specifies, "On the infield fly rule the umpire is to rule whether the ball could ordinarily have been handled by an infielder—not by some arbitrary limitation such as the grass, or the base lines. The umpire must rule also that a ball is an infield fly, even if handled by an outfielder, if, in the umpire’s judgment, the ball could have been as easily handled by an infielder."
Kozma was never camped under it. He never actually reached the spot where the ball landed. He waved his arms, but he sure as hell wasn't camped.
2nd place teams are lucky to be in the playoffs in the first place. I don't believe they deserve any more than a 1-game series. The previous system was a load of crap - there was no advantage to winning the division (one extra home game?). At least the wild card game makes the non-division winner earn it a little more. The Braves didn't deserve anything because they won more games than the Cardinals. It's like saying The Cardinals World Series ring in 2006 didn't count because they were a .500 team heading into the playoffs.
Kozma was backing up slowly to camp under the ball. For some bizarre reason, he peeled off.
The only forgiveness for this play/call is if Kozma and the ump both say that the ump was very loud and Kozma claims that the ump calling infield fly rule changed his route to the ball. I probably wouldn't believe it, if it was said, but it's about the only real reason for not redoing the play or more accurately just loading the bases with one out and playing it out from there.
He was racing back at full speed, and slowed down because he thought Holliday was calling him off.
The GIF I linked to in #32 shows Kozma giving up on the ball before Holbrook signals for the infield fly rule. I suppose it's possible Holbrook yelled something before his signal, but I doubt it.
Full speed? As your gif clearly shows, he was pursuing it with a mix of side saddle/back pedal. Unless he's Kevin Reimer, a ballplayer chasing a fly ball at full speed doesn't use that method of pursuit.
The SS is camped under it. The umpire signals infield fly. The SS peels off.
I don't consider a mix of full speed side saddle and very quick back pedal (the latter necessitated by a somewhat incorrect route to the ball) to be "ordinary effort".
And it sure as heck ain't slow.
Love how the ump calls the IF fly after Kozma starts running forward and away from the ball. Good grief.
Am I the only one on the planet who doesn't think it was a bad call? The SS is camped under it. The umpire signals infield fly. The SS peels off.
I just wish Holbrook had the ***** to admit he botched the call.
#41, the SS _was_ camped under it.
The ball lands beyond where you have placed your finger.
He's in position to make the play before he bails.
Well, yeah. He can catch the ball, if he's backpedaling quickly enough. Whether or not the ball was catchable is not up for debate - Kozma can clearly catch it. The question is whether that's "ordinary effort" - I'd say no, given the distance he had to go.
Never seen a IF fly call that deep.
I linked to a GIF of the play in post 32. Look at it.
Find the point where Kozma is farthest out. Then put your finger there. The ball lands beyond where you have placed your finger.
Pretty sure Sam Holbrook is not a mute but whatever. Continue to pretend that his hand-signal is the end all be all if you are another biased fanboy.!
My god, I am in full agreement with SoSH.
And the fact that the rule has really never been used in this manner before (that I can remember, at least) is going to cause tremendous controversy.
I looked at the GIF, and I fully disagree. The SS was camped under it.
If Holbrook doesn't make that call and Holliday starts a 7-5-4 double play, you better believe Fredi Gonzalez would have been all over the umpires asking where the infield fly call was.
I wonder if we'll see a rule change in the aftermath of this. The rule governing the call is fine, but the result if the ball is dropped isn't fair. Why should the fielding team be rewarded with an out if they can't make the catch? If it's dropped, once the play is over, why not award the batter first and move up any runners as needed to make room for the batter?
I'm a Braves fan. They lost this game ten ways to Sunday
I looked at the GIF, and I fully disagree. The SS was camped under it.
But this never could have happened. This hypothetical is useless.
A big part of that is because most high pop ups that the shortstop starts backing up to catch are subsequently caught, rendering the IF fly moot. The IF fly only matters when the ball hits the turf, which major league defenders are generally pretty good at preventing.
Ray, put a bullet in your head.
(Said in my worst Tom Hanks voice) There's no crying in baseball!
The infield fly rule protects the offense a lot more than it harms them, but this goes overboard in favoring them. It's basically a free play - if it's caught, you're no worse off than you would have been if there were no infield fly rule. If it's dropped, it's basically the same result as a base on balls - everyone moves up, free of risk of being put out.
The call has to be made before the ball is caught or hits the ground.
When it seems apparent that a batted ball will be an Infield Fly, the umpire shall immediately declare “Infield Fly” for the benefit of the runners.
And the fans behavior -- I feel like resigning from my lifetime rooting interest.
Except, no, on the "close catch/trap" Holliday (of all people) isn't throwing fast enough to start that DP. You've got a fielder coming fast, making a catch at grass level, then a transfer, then a throw. Is he standing up after the catch? Will he bother to regain his balance before he throws?
It shocks me that so many people here are on the wrong side of this.
You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.
Login to Join (2 members)
Page rendered in 0.9424 seconds, 57 querie(s) executed