Go to end of page
Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.
In this game, Gerardo Parra bunted for a double, which is extremely rare. Later in this game, Gerardo Parra was called out running to first on batter interference, which is also very rare. This game went to 15 innings, which is rare, and there were blown saves on home runs in both the 13th and the 14th, which is rare. The Mets lost, which is common.
I was at the Cano game and it was obvious then, and is clear on the gif, that Cano should have been out. His left foot is literally on home plate as he bunts the ball. He should have been ruled out.
Wright: There’s the baseball!
Beckham: The baseball is right there!
Rodriguez: Right there! That is the baseball!
Wright: We are all in agreement!
Rodriguez: That is a baseball
On that last one, it should have been a single and a team error. If they had team errors.
Looks to me like his foot is very near the plate, but doesn't appear to be "literally on home plate as he bunts the ball".
Just for fun, here’s the Red Sox broadcast right before Cano squared around:
Orsillo: He’ll be a free agent at the end of the year and most think the Yankees will bring him back.
Eckersley: Oh, I can’t imagine, they can’t lose this guy. This — they’ll give him the house.
Was it Brendan Ryan who got an infield triple a couple years ago? That one's always my favorite.
That reminds of of when AJ Pierzynski scored from first base on an infield ground ball.
The relevant question is if the foot is out of the box, which it appears to be (it may not be irrefutable from the video, but it appears there's space between his heel and the line). There is no rule about touching home plate. But the batter's out if he hits the ball with one or both foot outside the box.
On BBRef, that's scored simply as a single. The Play by Play description is "Single to SS (Ground Ball to Weak 3B); Ryan to 3B." But there's really no accounting for how he got there. Seems to me the most logical method to score it should be as two SBs.
He advanced because the fielders choose not to cover/play properly.
That's a pretty expansive definition of choice.
To me a stolen base has to be a separate action.
Since we don't have a team error, I would have scored it as a fielders choice.
The scoring rules are very specific about stolen bases and fielder's choices, and I'm pretty sure that the Ryan play wouldn't qualify as either.
Wouldn't team errors almost always be plays where no one touches the ball?
If that's a fielder's choice, how is it not a fielder's choice when a 3b holds off on grabbing a bunt up the line, hoping for it to go foul, and its stays fair?
The official scorer shall credit a stolen base to a runner whenever the runner advances one base unaided by a hit, a putout, an error, a force-out, a fielder’s choice, a passed ball, a wild pitch or a balk
Usually, but not always.
Mind you, my interpretation of it, isn't the official rule book interpretation of the play or anything, just the way I felt how I would call that particular play.
You left out the "subject to the following:" part. Which is almost two pages and all deals with plays that begin with the ball in the pitcher's hands. Advances that that follow a hit or an error are never scored as stolen bases, even if the action is not what you or I would consider continuous.
I don't see anything that necessarily precludes it.
We already have runners advancing on the throw (for instance going to second on a throw home) - is that technically a fielder's choice? I always mark it with a T when I keep score.
FIELDER’S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and,
instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an
attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for
the advance of the batter-runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who
handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance
of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out
another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the
defensive team’s indifference (undefended steal).
or as I like to call them, HUAs (headupass).
You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.
Login to Join (0 members)
Page rendered in 0.4954 seconds, 59 querie(s) executed