Go to end of page
Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.
I'm not saying that the guys in the past were trying to fool the system, but that they were attempting to quickly transfer before they actually caught the ball...
Of course I'm a technology guy, if I was the MLB, I would have an intern go watch a bunch of games looking for examples of what you want to be ruled a catch, and what not, and make a video of that to show to all the umps and teams.
This is commonly known as trying to turn the double play. Seriously, middle infielders are specifically taught to NOT catch the ball on the pivot, because that fraction of a second can make the difference in getting the runner at first. So you keep your glove open and use it to redirect the ball into your throwing hand. That's been called an out at second for 150 years. Now it's not an out any more. Or maybe now it is again. But at least they've cleared up that this isn't going to apply to catching fly balls, and that's obviously a good thing.
You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.
Login to Join (2 members)
Page rendered in 0.3320 seconds, 58 querie(s) executed