Go to end of page
Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.
Between the horrendous replay implementation, the stupid transfer rule, and the new collision rule, this has not been a banner year for MLB when it comes to rules and umpiring
Horrendous call, which MLB is already admitting was wrong. Between the lousy replay implementation, the transfer rule, and the new collision rule, this has not been a banner year for MLB when it comes to rules and umpiring.
On the other hand, the runner's path to the plate was interfering with the play, which is probably why Martin recieved the ball the way he did. Could the runner have been called out for interference?
Notwithstanding the above, it shall not be considered a violation of this Rule 7.13 if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner in order to field a throw, and the Umpire determines that the catcher could not have fielded the ball without blocking the pathway of the runner and that contact with the runner was unavoidable.
Perhaps they should on force plays at the plate.
Also why is the runner sliding on a force play? Is that also required by the new rule?
Also why is the runner sliding on a force play?
While the rationale at 1B is to keep the runner from interfering with the throw it has the additional result of avoiding collisions at 1B and runners trying to jar the ball loose. Although not expressly written, the result of the rule is that the 1B sets up on the very inside part of the bag while the runner gets to use the outside part of the bag.
The rationale on force plays at the plate would be to avoid collisions on force plays at the plate, not avoid throw interference.
I admire baseball admitting when they make a mistake. None of the lesser sports would have the gumption to do that.
For interference, the runner has to be hit by the ball - even when running to first. If he runs on the inside of the baseline and the ball doesn't touch him, he's fine.
I'm pretty sure you have to be hit by the ball between other bases.
You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.
Login to Join (0 members)
Page rendered in 0.4304 seconds, 53 querie(s) executed