Go to end of page
Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.
Page 6 of 10 pages
If you're going to let Workman bat last night, may as well let Doubront bat here. If he's cruising, your pen is tired and you have a three run lead? I can live with letting the pitcher hit.
Managing 101: You do not let relievers bat in playoff games.
ugh, not pleased with Doubront hitting
I'm pretty sure Mariano Rivera hit in the World Series once or twice.
He has 3 post season plate appearances in his career.
If I were GM I'd be on my way down to the dugout to fire Farrell. Mid-game.
I'm almost positive one of those was in the 2000 WS.
Oh yeah, this is clearly the time where Choate is needed most.
and your current guy is cruising
it really seems like the Cards won't pitch to Ortiz again with men on period
Doubront is smoking. Let him keep pitching
If I were GM I'd be on my way down to the dugout to fire Farrell.
Can't remember who posted it, but somebody here mentioned that the last time a reliever hit in a playoff game was 1977, I believe...
But it's been pretty well debunked this thing about "cruising" having any predictive power beyond the pitcher's normal talent/results.
[ ] Farrell bats his relievers in Boston even with the DH rule available
Siegrist is who we should be calling for against Ortiz.... Choate is your second loogy, except unlike Siegrist, you don't let him pitch against righties if possible.
Right, so just switch pitchers randomly until you get the one who sucks. And, in any case, Doubront is a much better pitcher than the remaining relievers.
Yeesh, why'd he even have a green light there.
Doesn't mean a guy isn't pitching well.
But, if you were planning to pull him after a hit, then, yes, why let him hit?
The Cardinals will have the tying run up to bat before this game ends.
Ray, doubront retired the first two batters with ease. He did not leave a dire situation for Breslin.
When I see a guy retire six straight, they more often than not don't implode. is it guaranteed? No, absolutely not. On the other hand, when 10th guys on the staff come into games in the 7th they very often bring a can of gas with them.
So why, oh why, would you ever leave a starting pitcher in after he surrenders his first hit of the game??
You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.
Login to Join (2 members)
Page rendered in 0.8657 seconds, 57 querie(s) executed