Go to end of page
Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.
"All I have to say is I know I owe an apology to MLB, Mr. Joe Torre, even the scorekeeping guys. I know that I had frustration come out that way, and that's not what you really want. You don't want things to be like that and everything. But this has been a season already that has been jam-packed with frustration. At the end of the day, our job is based on results. I sit down and watch that TV every night after the game and I go 0-for-4, and all people talk and ##### about is why I'm not hitting .300. We are a family that of course needs to protect each other. The whole week has been about me protecting over a hit. There's a lot of people mad at me because I argued something that I didn't think I should get. I don't blame them. I'm not apologizing just because I got that result. It's because the message was spread out based on frustration. That's why I'm apologizing.”
MLB exec Joe Torre let Ortiz know in unambiguous terms that his comments were not acceptable.
In any event, Ortiz got his hit, as official scorer Bob Ellis on Monday switched his ruling from an error to a hit.
There's a GIF in the link. Looks like an error to me, but whatever.
How long before we can just do away with errors altogether?
but any play a player has to move more than one step for is usually ruled a hit.
That's a bit of an overstatement, isn't it?
For what it's worth I keep score at every game I go to (about 25-30 a year) so I pay a lot of attention to how things are scored. That sort of play is more often than not ruled a hit. Watch the gif in the story, it's hit relatively sharply and Mauer goes to his knees to try to backhand the ball. When a fielder does that it is almost always ruled a hit. I'll agree that it's a play a better first baseman makes fairly easily and if you think it SHOULD be an error I won't argue but I think it's a hit based on how games are routinely scored.
Given the way scoring works I think that's a hit.
you need a team error for that.
Do you? When I was a player a long long time ago I seem to recall being told that ultimate responsibility for plays that two fielders could make ultimately belonged to one party, who was assigned before the play (by type, for example pop-up to the infield) arose. A normal example is a popup between the infield and the outfield, that both players can reach. If there is any doubt, the infielder is supposed to call off the outfielder (or anyway that's how it was taught to us when I was young).
You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.
Login to Join (10 members)
Page rendered in 0.4929 seconds, 73 querie(s) executed