Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

btf_logo
You are here > Home > Baseball Newsstand > Baseball Primer Newsblog > Discussion
Baseball Primer Newsblog
— The Best News Links from the Baseball Newsstand

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

GIF: Victor Martinez concedes getting thrown out at home

I haven’t seen a Victor mail it in this bad since Victor Mature in “Won Ton Ton, the Dog Who Saved Hollywood”.

With two outs in the bottom of the third in Detroit, Tigers infielder Jhonny Peralta sent a line drive single to right field, scoring Prince Fielder from third. Victor Martinez—who had previously doubled—attempted to score from second on the play.

The problem here was three-fold:

1. Martinez was already slow.
2. He’s a season removed from having his ACL (knee) repaired.
3. Royals right fielder Jeff Francoeur sports one of baseball’s most lethal throwing arms.

The result was predictable, but it’s worthy of GIFdom due to the hilarious manner in which Martinez conceded that he’d been hosed—he never even tried to touch to home plate, instead electing to head straight to the Tigers’ dugout and be called out due to leaving the baseline.

Repoz Posted: April 24, 2013 at 09:26 PM | 16 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Tags: tigers

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. Random Transaction Generator Posted: April 24, 2013 at 11:40 PM (#4425322)
Smart move.
   2. Morty Causa Posted: April 24, 2013 at 11:46 PM (#4425325)
I haven’t seen a Victor mail it in this bad since Victor Mature in “Won Ton Ton, the Dog Who Saved Hollywood”.

How about the person who's always standing and walking?
   3. Kurt Posted: April 24, 2013 at 11:47 PM (#4425326)
Smart. He doesn't need to be getting into any collisions.

Edit: Coke to RTG
   4. Dan Posted: April 25, 2013 at 12:29 AM (#4425344)
If he leaves the baseline instead of getting tagged out, does Francoeur still get credited with an OF Assist?
   5. vortex of dissipation Posted: April 25, 2013 at 12:35 AM (#4425345)
If he leaves the baseline instead of getting tagged out, does Francoeur still get credited with an OF Assist?


No, he doesn't. Rule 10.09:

(c) The official scorer shall credit automatic putouts as follows (and shall credit no assists on these plays except as specified):
(1) When the batter is called out on an Infield Fly that is not caught, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder who the scorer believes could have made the catch;
(2) When a runner is called out for being touched by a fair ball (including an Infield Fly), the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder nearest the ball;
(3) When a runner is called out for running out of line to avoid being tagged, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder whom the runner avoided;
(4) When a runner is called out for passing another runner, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder nearest the point of passing;
(5) When a runner is called out for running the bases in reverse order, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder covering the base the runner left in starting his reverse run;
(6) When a runner is called out for having interfered with a fielder, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder with whom the runner interfered, unless the fielder was in the act of throwing the ball when the interference occurred, in which case the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder for whom the throw was intended and shall credit an assist to the fielder whose throw was interfered with; or
(7) When the batter-runner is called out because of interference by a preceding runner, as provided in Rule 6.05(m), the official scorer shall credit the putout to the first baseman. If the fielder interfered with was in the act of throwing the ball, the official scorer shall credit such fielder with an assist but shall credit only one assist on any one play under the provisions of Rule 10.09(c)(6) and 10.09(c)(7).
   6. SoSH U at work Posted: April 25, 2013 at 12:59 AM (#4425348)
No, he doesn't. Rule 10.09:


He's got one in the boxscore. I wonder if that will be changed (I tend to doubt it).

   7. Gold Star - just Gold Star Posted: April 25, 2013 at 01:03 AM (#4425349)
Professional courtesy among catchers.
   8. Gold Star - just Gold Star Posted: April 25, 2013 at 01:08 AM (#4425350)
Nothing I read in 10.09(c)(3) makes me believe Frenchy can't get credited for the assist.

Also, I'm looking askance at 10.09(c)(5) because WHAT IN TARNATION WAS GOING ON IN THE GAME FORCING RULEMAKERS TO SPECIFICALLY ADDRESS THAT? Was running around the bases 3b-2b-1b-hp once an actual thing?
   9. SoSH U at work Posted: April 25, 2013 at 01:18 AM (#4425354)
Nothing I read in 10.09(c)(3) makes me believe Frenchy can't get credited for the assist.


Seems pretty clear to me. As it's not specified as an excpetion in 3, no assist should be given.

Also, I'm looking askance at 10.09(c)(5) because WHAT IN TARNATION WAS GOING ON IN THE GAME FORCING RULEMAKERS TO SPECIFICALLY ADDRESS THAT? Was running around the bases 3b-2b-1b-hp once an actual thing?


There was no Frenchy involved in that one. Just a Germany.
   10. Sleepy supports unauthorized rambling Posted: April 25, 2013 at 02:30 AM (#4425362)
It's hard to tell from that gif, since it was apparently recorded in ffd mode on someone's 1997 DVR, but it kind of looked like he stepped out of the baseline to avoid stepping on or near the bat, then just kept going away from home plate at about the same moderate rate of change, towards the dugout. I LOL'd.

If this was a cardinal player, I'd be miffed at Jose Oquendo.

And I think my favorite part of the video was the Royals pitcher walking nonchalantly the other way (coupled with the umpire simultaneously walking towards him, as if choreographed). On the gif, they basically enter from stage left and stage right, simultaneously. Dup de dup de dup de doop.
   11. Tim Raines Posted: April 25, 2013 at 06:27 AM (#4425376)
Tom Brookens is new to coaching third this year. I was watching the game, but I didn't see Brookens on this play.
   12. Hack Wilson Posted: April 25, 2013 at 07:40 AM (#4425381)

Victor Mature in “Won Ton Ton, the Dog Who Saved Hollywood”.


Victor Mature's best movie is the apparently forgotten, After the Fox, in which he satirizes his earlier acting career.
   13. bobm Posted: April 26, 2013 at 12:48 AM (#4426051)
Also, I'm looking askance at 10.09(c)(5) because WHAT IN TARNATION WAS GOING ON IN THE GAME FORCING RULEMAKERS TO SPECIFICALLY ADDRESS THAT? Was running around the bases 3b-2b-1b-hp once an actual thing?

Yes.

METS 5TH: Piersall homered; Piersall's 100th HR. He ran
backwards to 1B, etc all the way around;
Harkness grounded
out (first to pitcher); Hunt grounded out (pitcher to first);
Snider was called out on strikes; 1 R, 1 H, 0 E, 0 LOB.
Phillies 0, Mets 2.


Photo

Photos

Photo
   14. SoSH U at work Posted: April 26, 2013 at 01:01 AM (#4426056)
That's not the same thing bob. Piersall ran the bases in the correct order, but facing the wrong direction. Rule 10.09(c)(5) addresses running any of the bases in the wrong order (as performed by Germany Scahefer). Running from second back to first is actually within the rules, as we saw last Friday, provided the batter isn't doing it to deceive the defense or is deemed to be trying to make a mockery of the sport.
   15. bobm Posted: April 26, 2013 at 01:19 AM (#4426059)
I stand corrected.
   16. Greg K Posted: April 26, 2013 at 04:28 AM (#4426080)
In the first photo, the next batter looks a lot more annoyed than the catcher.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.

 

 

<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Support BBTF

donate

Thanks to
The Ghost's Tryin' to Reason with Hurricane Season
for his generous support.

Bookmarks

You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.

Hot Topics

NewsblogSchoenfield: Why didn't the Braves win more titles?
(55 - 8:31am, Jul 28)
Last: Lassus

NewsblogNoble: Tom Seaver expects Derek Jeter to become first unanimous Hall of Fame inductee
(94 - 8:16am, Jul 28)
Last: They paved Misirlou, put up a parking lot

NewsblogFull Count » Mike Carp, Felix Doubront and the challenges of player discontent on a struggling team
(9 - 8:10am, Jul 28)
Last: Steve Balboni's Personal Trainer

NewsblogPrimer Dugout (and link of the day) 7-28-2014
(2 - 7:59am, Jul 28)
Last: Greasy Neale Heaton (Dan Lee)

NewsblogGossage on Bonds, McGwire Hall hopes: ‘Are you f–king kidding?’
(107 - 7:55am, Jul 28)
Last: Jeltzandini

NewsblogDodgers and Diamondbacks Triple-A teams involved in wild brawl
(13 - 7:06am, Jul 28)
Last: Shooty Survived the Shutdown of '14!

NewsblogTigers Display Focus on 2014; acquire Joakim Soria
(5 - 6:54am, Jul 28)
Last: Cooper Nielson

NewsblogHall of Fame Announces Changes to Voting Process for Recently Retired Players, Effective Immediately
(84 - 6:38am, Jul 28)
Last: Sunday silence

NewsblogOTP - July 2014: Republicans Lose To Democrats For Sixth Straight Year In Congressional Baseball Game
(3292 - 6:14am, Jul 28)
Last: Jolly Old St. Nick Still Gags in October

NewsblogDJ Short: Maximum stay on Hall of Fame ballot changed from 15 to 10 years
(57 - 6:05am, Jul 28)
Last: Sunday silence

NewsblogFull Count » Mike Carp explains why he requested a trade from Red Sox
(18 - 3:18am, Jul 28)
Last: ellsbury my heart at wounded knee

NewsblogRoger Angell goes into the Hall of Fame
(28 - 12:49am, Jul 28)
Last: bobm

NewsblogOT: Monthly NBA Thread- July 2014
(967 - 12:31am, Jul 28)
Last: clowns to the left of me; STEAGLES to the right

NewsblogGiants purchase contract of 2B Uggla
(8 - 12:09am, Jul 28)
Last: Rickey! On a blog from 1998. With the candlestick.

NewsblogOMNICHATTER 7-27-2014
(145 - 11:46pm, Jul 27)
Last: Los Angeles El Hombre of Anaheim

Page rendered in 0.2867 seconds
52 querie(s) executed