This was worth it just to see Twitch Williams flipping out on MLB Network last night.
Rivera proceeded to retire the side in order, which was good for save number 652 ... right? Well, the Yankees took the lead in the top of the ninth only after David Robertson squandered their earlier lead in the bottom of the eighth. That means that Robertson, who gave up three runs on four hits in an inning of work, figured to get the win. But then ...
Jack Curry ✔ @JackCurryYES
Rivera loses a save, but gets the win. Official scorer ruled that Robertson was brief/ineffective and gave Rivera the win.
...It seems the official scorer of note departed just a bit from the recommended guidelines and took the win from Robertson despite his having pitched a full inning. With that said, the rules say that the scorer “is not required to” adhere strictly to those criteria.
Basically, it’s the “succeeding relief pitcher” provision that’s at work here. If Robertson had, say, soiled the linens in the top of the ninth in a home game and then the Yankees went on to win in the bottom of the frame, then he would’ve gotten his undeserved win. In this instance, though, Rivera’s following up Robertson means the peerless reliever swaps his save for a win.
Reliever wins are almost uniformly silly, of course, so this seems an odd time for the scorer to start treating them seriously. On the other hand, the rules give him sanction to do just that.
I declare the whole thing to be weird.
Posted: September 13, 2013 at 07:47 AM | 37 comment(s)
Login to Bookmark