Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Thursday, March 01, 2007

Hughie Jennings

Eligible in 1908.

John (You Can Call Me Grandma) Murphy Posted: March 01, 2007 at 03:22 PM | 5 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. John (You Can Call Me Grandma) Murphy Posted: March 01, 2007 at 03:31 PM (#2305099)
I can't believe we never set up his own thread, since he was on the ballot for an extremely long time before he was finally elected.

"Ee-Yah" was analyzed on these threads:

1908 Ballot Discussion

Shortstop Positional Thread

If you know of any others, please let me know. However, since he was discussed for countless "years," please only inform me of threads where he was discussed heaviliy.
   2. DavidFoss Posted: March 01, 2007 at 04:12 PM (#2305150)
In what year was he finally inducted?
   3. OCF Posted: March 01, 2007 at 05:53 PM (#2305268)
He was elected in 1960. His case was one of our most-debated ever; you're likely to find posts relating to his case scattered over a majority of the discussion and ballot threads for 50 years.
   4. Howie Menckel Posted: March 03, 2007 at 01:58 AM (#2306076)
Hughie was our all-time leader in "voting points" at the time of his election. He's since slipped to 8th but hopes to finish in the project in the top 10.
   5. Slivers of Maranville descends into chaos (SdeB) Posted: March 03, 2007 at 02:23 AM (#2306083)
Though not a voter, I was a long-time supporter of Jennings. Glad he made it in.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Chicago Joe
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.

Hot Topics

2021 Hall of Merit Ballot Discussion
(151 - 5:29pm, Jan 22)
Last: progrockfan

Lance Berkman
(13 - 11:19am, Jan 22)
Last: Kiko Sakata

Larry Walker
(42 - 10:16pm, Jan 21)
Last: Bleed the Freak

Gavvy Cravath
(305 - 9:37pm, Jan 21)
Last: DL from MN

Most Meritorious Player: 1923 Discussion
(7 - 4:23pm, Jan 21)
Last: MrC.

Tim Hudson
(6 - 1:14pm, Jan 19)
Last: cookiedabookie

Most Meritorious Player: 2019 Results
(5 - 12:16pm, Jan 19)
Last: CubsInSeven

Mark Buehrle
(9 - 1:15pm, Jan 18)
Last: cookiedabookie

Torii Hunter
(23 - 2:18pm, Jan 15)
Last: Rally

2020 Hall of Merit Election Results: Jeter, Tiant, Jones and Helton
(33 - 12:37pm, Jan 15)
Last: Dr. Chaleeko

2020 Hall of Merit Ballot Discussion
(569 - 10:06pm, Jan 14)
Last: DL from MN

2020 Hall of Merit Ballot
(73 - 10:11pm, Jan 09)
Last: Mike Webber

New Eligibles Year by Year
(979 - 1:07pm, Jan 09)
Last: Dr. Chaleeko

George Van Haltren, Hugh Duffy and Jimmy Ryan
(122 - 10:16am, Jan 09)
Last: progrockfan

Vida Blue
(6 - 5:38am, Jan 09)
Last: The Honorable Ardo


Page rendered in 0.2468 seconds
59 querie(s) executed