Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Wednesday, February 02, 2022

Most Meritorious Player: 1895 Results

Congratulations to Pink Hawley, our 1895 Most Meritorious Player!

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Pink Hawley	113	8	2
Cy Young	111	8	3
Kid Nichols	89	8	0
Hughie Jennings	89	8	2
Ed Delahanty	86	8	0
Jesse Burkett	51	6	0
Billy Hamilton	51	6	0
Bill Hoffer	51	5	1
Sam Thompson	47	5	0
George Cuppy	46	5	0
Clark Griffith	36	4	0
Bill Lange	23	3	0
Joe Kelley	21	3	0
Ted Breitenstein	11	1	0
Amos Rusie	8	1	0
Mike Griffin	7	1	0
DL from MN Posted: February 02, 2022 at 04:03 PM | 3 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: February 02, 2022 at 04:14 PM (#6063550)
Very close election. Not often that the player with the most 1st place votes loses. Also not very often that our winner is not in the Hall of Merit.

Player # times on a ballot
Cy Young 10
Kid Nichols 5
Ed Delahanty 5
Billy Hamilton 3
Sam Thompson 3
Ted Breitenstein 3
Amos Rusie 3

For pitchers only Clemens (13), Walter Johnson (12), Lefty Grove (11) and Christy Mathewson (11) have received MMP votes in more seasons than Cy Young. Young is tied with Randy Johnson and Joe Williams. He has a chance to be on top of that list when we're done with the 1890s.
   2. DL from MN Posted: February 02, 2022 at 04:18 PM (#6063552)
Pink Hawley has received votes in a different season. He's currently tied with Ron Guidry, Fred Lynn, Dwight Gooden, Dizzy Trout, Phil Rizzuto, Bryce Harper, Alex Bregman and Josh Hamilton for second fewest seasons on-ballot for an MMP winner (2). Our 2021 winner Shohei Ohtani has only been on one ballot.
   3. DL from MN Posted: February 02, 2022 at 04:29 PM (#6063555)
Hughie Jennings and Clark Griffith make their first appearances on an MMP ballot. The only Hall of Merit players who played the prime of their career 1893-2021 who never got an MMP vote are Willie Keeler, Biz Mackey and Quincy Trouppe.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
greenback does not like sand
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.1672 seconds
41 querie(s) executed