Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Most Meritorious Player: 1900 Ballot

Here are the specific rules for this election:

Candidate Eligibility: Any North American professional baseball player is eligible for the Most Meritorious Player (MMP) award including players on independent teams. Voters should consider the player’s on-field contribution to Major League Baseball (MLB) team(s) in that season only. If part of the season was spent outside MLB, that value may be considered as well. However, the player’s on-field contribution should be judged in relation to the highest level major league, not relative to a minor league. A season may include playoff or World Series games but does not include spring training or exhibition games. No credit will be given for games not played due to injury, wartime service or contract holdouts.

Ballot Length: For 1900, each voter should rank 10 players.

Voter eligibility: All voters who did not vote in the previous year’s election must post a preliminary ballot in the ballot discussion thread. All voters must fill out a complete ballot. Voters must briefly explain their ballot choices. One person, one vote; anyone determined to have voted with multiple accounts will be banned and their votes will be disallowed. The MMP ballot committee has authority to exclude any ballot that does not meet these requirements.

Scoring: Points will be given in descending order with the highest-ranked player receiving 15 points, the second highest 14 points, and so on until the last player on the ballot receives 1 point. The player with the highest point total will be named the Most Meritorious Player. In case of a tie, the tiebreaker will be number of first place votes. If the tiebreaker does not determine a winner the players will share the title of Most Meritorious Player.

Balloting will close at 4pm EST on 6 July 2022.

Anyone can vote, even if you do not normally participate in Hall of Merit discussions. If you have never participated in an MMP election, just post a preliminary ballot in the discussion thread by 5 July 2022.

DL from MN Posted: June 22, 2022 at 01:26 PM | 3 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: June 22, 2022 at 02:37 PM (#6083279)
Opened this early. Final ballot before we go real-time.
   2. bjhanke Posted: June 23, 2022 at 02:05 AM (#6083384)
Here's Brock Hanke's ballot with no comments. I am VERY sick right now (respiratory problems, I pant almost all the time). If I couldn't just put together a list of Win Shares, I would not be able to vote at all.

1. Honus Wagner (34)
2. Elmer Flick (32)
3. Joe McGinnity (30)
4. Bill Dineen (27)
5. Kip Selbach (27)
6. Jesse Burkett (25)
7. Roy Thomas (25)
8. Sliding Billy Hamilton (23)
9. Deacon Phillippe (23)
10. Jesse Tannehill (23)
   3. DL from MN Posted: June 23, 2022 at 12:07 PM (#6083415)
Thanks Brock. Get well soon.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Edmundo got dem ol' Kozma blues again mama
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.1117 seconds
13 querie(s) executed