Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Wednesday, April 08, 2015

Most Meritorious Player: 1903 Results

Congratulations to Christy Mathewson, your 1903 MMP!

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Chris Mathewson	103	8	1
Joe McGinnity	102	8	3
Honus Wagner	100	8	1
Rube Foster	88	8	3
Napoleon Lajoie	81	7	0
Cy Young	79	7	0
Jimmy Sheckard	75	8	0
Bill Bradley	52	6	0
Rube Waddell	40	4	0
Sam Leever	32	4	0
Noodles Hahn	14	2	0
Eddie Plank	14	2	0
Frank Chance	12	2	0
Johnny Kling	10	1	0
Jimmy Collins	9	1	0
Patsy Dougherty	8	1	0
Deac Phillippe	8	1	0
Bill Dinneen	7	1	0
Sam Crawford	6	1	0
DL from MN Posted: April 08, 2015 at 05:22 PM | 10 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: April 08, 2015 at 05:34 PM (#4926669)
Third time on a ballot for McGinnity, Wagner, Lajoie, Young, Hahn and Crawford
   2. DL from MN Posted: April 08, 2015 at 05:38 PM (#4926674)
This is the closest MMP election ever. Only one other time have the top two been separated by a single point (Jackson/Petrocelli) and usually 2nd place is separated by more than the 3 points that separates 1st from 3rd.
   3. Qufini Posted: April 08, 2015 at 06:00 PM (#4926688)
Wow, that's crazy. Mathewson also sets a record for fewest first place votes and lowest percentage of first place votes by an MMP. Reggie Jackson had the latter record in that 1969 election. I'm not sure but I think Phil Rizzuto might have had the former record from the 1950 vote.
   4. Qufini Posted: April 08, 2015 at 06:09 PM (#4926694)
Christy Mathewson is the second Giant to win the MMP, joining 7-time winner Willie Mays. Mathewson is also the first Giant to win the pitching MMP, though Sam Jones won the NL-only version in a 1959 runoff.
   5. Qufini Posted: April 08, 2015 at 06:11 PM (#4926697)
Napoleon Lajoie is your AL MMP for 1903, becoming the earliest position player to win the award. However, it's his third straight year as the AL position player MMP (he lost out to pitchers in '01 & '02). Mickey Mantle and Mike Trout are the only other players to win three straight AL PP MMPs to date.
   6. Qufini Posted: April 08, 2015 at 06:13 PM (#4926699)
Cy Young is the AL pitching MMP for the second time (he also won the 1901 award) though I'm fairly certain he'll add some more hardware before he's done.
   7. Qufini Posted: April 08, 2015 at 06:14 PM (#4926701)
Honus Wagner is the NL position player MMP for the second straight year. Willie Stargell and Andrew McCutchen have also won the award as Pirates.
   8. Qufini Posted: April 08, 2015 at 06:15 PM (#4926702)
Finally, it's worth noting that Rube Foster is the first Negro Leagues player to finish in the top five, with a fourth-place showing.
   9. DL from MN Posted: April 09, 2015 at 09:35 AM (#4927061)
I'm not thrilled with a low turnout, close election. Would have much rather had 4 more ballots. McGinnity topped Mathewson on 5 of 9 ballots.
   10. Qufini Posted: April 10, 2015 at 11:43 AM (#4928164)
We could have had four more voters and still had a really close election. It was more of a debate about the value of ERA, FIP and WAR than anything else.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Martin Hemner
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.3439 seconds
59 querie(s) executed