Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Wednesday, July 08, 2015

Most Meritorious Player: 1906 Results

Congratulations on Honus Wagner winning the 1906 MMP. This is the second consecutive MMP for Wagner. He hasn’t placed lower than 4th since 1901.

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Honus Wagner	114	8	5
George Stone	108	8	1
Napoleon Lajoie	99	8	0
Mordecai Brown	67	5	2
Art Devlin	65	6	0
Frank Chance	62	6	0
Har Steinfeldt	53	8	0
Terry Turner	49	5	0
Dan McClellan	40	5	0
Harry Lumley	38	4	0
Albert Orth	37	4	0
Vic Willis	30	4	0
Elmer Flick	23	3	0
Roger Bresnahan	19	2	0
Harry Davis	11	1	0
Tim Jordan	10	1	0
Grant Johnson	8	1	0
Pete Hill	7	1	0


DL from MN Posted: July 08, 2015 at 04:25 PM | 7 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: July 08, 2015 at 04:37 PM (#4995196)
Wagner's 6th ballot appearance. Everyone who has 6 MMP appearances is in the HoM except Dale Murphy.

5th time for Lajoie. 4 for Chance and Flick. 3 for Vic Willis.
   2. DL from MN Posted: July 08, 2015 at 04:45 PM (#4995203)
48 points is the minimum you can get by appearing on 8 ballots and Harry Steinfeldt got 53 points from 8 ballots.
   3. Qufini Posted: July 08, 2015 at 05:09 PM (#4995239)
As DL noted, this is Honus Wagner's second straight MMP. It's also his fourth NL-only MMP ('02, '04-'06) and fifth straight NL position player MMP ('02-'06). That's some old school dominance. Robin Roberts was the NL pitching MMP for five straight seasons ('51-'55) and Mickey Mantle was the AL position player MMP for five as well ('55-'59) but no one has made it to six in a row yet.
   4. Qufini Posted: July 08, 2015 at 05:12 PM (#4995244)
Congratulations to Mordecai "Three-Finger" Brown, who is the pitching MMP for 1906. Brown is the second Cub to win this award, joining Rick Reuschel (1977). However, Brown's 4th place showing is the lowest spot for a pitching MMP so far in the 'aughts as every other season featured a pitcher finishing first or second overall.
   5. Qufini Posted: July 08, 2015 at 05:16 PM (#4995249)
Congratulations to George Stone, the AL MMP of 1906. Stone is the only Brown to be named AL MMP so far though Frank Robinson ('66) and Cal Ripken Jr. ('83, '84) won the award after the franchise moved to Baltimore.
   6. Qufini Posted: July 08, 2015 at 05:19 PM (#4995252)
Congratulations to Al Orth of the New York Highlanders. He may not have cracked the top ten but his 11th place finish is still tops among AL pitchers. Orth is the second Highlander to be the AL pitcher MMP, following Jack Chesbro ('04) although Whitey Ford ('61) and Ron Guidry ('78) also won the award after the franchise changed their name to the Yankees.
   7. Qufini Posted: July 08, 2015 at 05:22 PM (#4995259)
Finally, congratulations to Dan McClellan, 1906's Negro League MMP. McClellan is the third straight Philadelphia Giant to win the award after Rube Foster ('04) and Pete Hill ('05).

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Vegas Watch
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2461 seconds
41 querie(s) executed