Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Most Meritorious Player: 1908 Results

Congratulations to Honus Wagner on being unanimously named the 1908 Most Meritorious Player. This is the 4th consecutive MMP award for Honus Wagner which is a record.

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Honus Wagner	135	9	9
Chr Mathewson	117	9	0
Ed Walsh	117	9	0
John H Lloyd	84	7	0
Addie Joss	75	7	0
Napoleon Lajoie	73	8	0
Cy Young	67	7	0
Tyrus Cobb	62	7	0
Geo McQuillan	58	7	0
Mordecai Brown	51	6	0
Joe Tinker	30	4	0
Roger Bresnahan	27	3	0
Matty McIntyre	14	2	0
Sam Crawford	14	2	0
Mike Donlin	12	2	0
Doc Gessler	9	1	0
DL from MN Posted: September 10, 2015 at 09:58 AM | 10 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: September 10, 2015 at 10:10 AM (#5035548)
Tie for top pitcher.

# times on ballot
8 - Wagner
7 - Lajoie, Cy Young
6 - Crawford, Mathewson
3 - Mordecai Brown
   2. Qufini Posted: September 10, 2015 at 12:54 PM (#5035694)
This is the 4th consecutive MMP award for Honus Wagner which is a record.

What a stretch of dominance! I wonder if either Babe Ruth or Barry Bonds will be able to match it. In addition, this is Wagner's 5th straight season as NL MMP (he finished behind Lajoie and Chesbro in '04) which ties Mickey Mantle ('55-'59) for the most consecutive league-specific awards. And this is Wagner's 7th straight season as the top position player in the NL (Mathewson interrupted his streak in '03).
   3. Qufini Posted: September 10, 2015 at 01:00 PM (#5035698)
Tie for top pitcher.

This year joins 1974 as the only seasons so far with a tie for top pitcher. In '74, Phil Niekro and Gaylord Perry tied for 5th place. I've run tiebreakers for other seasons but those were years when the leading candidates congregated at the bottom of the ballot and off-ballot support had the potential to play a role in the leader. But there's no question about this one. Mathewson and Walsh were named on all 9 ballots and finished in a tie for second.

This is Mathewson's third pitching MMP, following 1903 and '05 (he also won the NL-specific version in 1906).

This is Walsh's second pitching MMP, as he also won in 1907. Of note, Walsh is also this year's AL MMP, the first member of the Chicago White Sox to win this award to date.
   4. Qufini Posted: September 10, 2015 at 01:04 PM (#5035702)
Napoleon Lajoie is this year's top position player in the American League. This is his fifth such award as he also won 4 straight from 1901-04.

Finally, John Henry Lloyd is the top player from the Negro Leagues. Lloyd tied Rube Foster (1903) for the best finish among Negro League players with 4th. This also marks the fifth straight victory for the Philadelphia Giants.
   5. DL from MN Posted: September 10, 2015 at 01:19 PM (#5035724)
Lloyd was left off two ballots - one was by caiman who doesn't rank Negro Leaguers. The other was by John Murphy. I can't see additional votes on those ballots changing his position since he was clearly behind the top 3 on the ballots where he was named.
   6. DL from MN Posted: September 10, 2015 at 01:23 PM (#5035730)
Worth noting that we haven't done 1900 when Wagner led the NL position players in WAR or 1899 when he was in the top 5. We aren't scheduled to go back to the 1890s until we're done with everything else.
   7. Qufini Posted: September 11, 2015 at 12:38 AM (#5036199)
DL, what is the upcoming schedule? 1909, 2015, 1910, 1989?
   8. God Posted: September 11, 2015 at 03:47 AM (#5036216)
George McQuillan, however, is the pitching MMP among pitchers with heterochromia. An award Max Scherzer has a stranglehold on in modern baseball.
   9. DL from MN Posted: September 11, 2015 at 10:12 AM (#5036272)
1909, 1910, 1911, 2015 (after playoffs and HoM are done), 1989-1999

1900 MMP vote is scheduled for December 2022. Babe Ruth should win his first MMP election in 2018.
   10. Qufini Posted: September 11, 2015 at 02:58 PM (#5036498)

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Ray (CTL)
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2276 seconds
41 querie(s) executed