Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Friday, October 09, 2015

Most Meritorious Player: 1909 Results

Congratulations to Ty Cobb on his first MMP award.

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Tyrus Cobb	116	8	5
Eddie Collins	111	8	3
Honus Wagner	107	8	0
John H Lloyd	90	8	0
Chrs Mathewson	87	8	0
Mordecai Brown	84	8	0
Tris Speaker	67	8	0
Orval Overall	43	5	0
Sam Crawford	41	6	0
Napoleon Lajoie	28	4	0
Donie Bush	24	3	0
Frank Smith	20	3	0
George Gibson	8	1	0
Pete Hill	8	1	0
Frank Baker	6	1	0
DL from MN Posted: October 09, 2015 at 10:54 AM | 8 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: October 09, 2015 at 10:58 AM (#5058888)
Times on ballot

Player #
Wagner 9
Lajoie 8
Mathewson 7
Crawford 7
M Brown 4
Cobb 3
Hill 3
   2. DL from MN Posted: October 09, 2015 at 11:41 AM (#5058932)
Wagner is still the best player in the National League.
   3. Qufini Posted: October 09, 2015 at 06:02 PM (#5059489)
There was a lot of consensus this year. 7 players were named on all 8 ballots. 3 other players were named on at least half of the ballots. And only 15 players were named on any ballot.
   4. Qufini Posted: October 09, 2015 at 06:04 PM (#5059492)
Ty Cobb wins his first MMP. I have a feeling that it won't be his last one. He's only the second Tiger to win the award, joining Alan Trammell (1987). This is also Cobb's second AL MMP. He won in 1907 when he finished second overall to Honus Wagner.
   5. Qufini Posted: October 09, 2015 at 06:05 PM (#5059493)
Christy Mathewson finishes just ahead of Three-Finger Brown to win his fourth pitching MMP. Mathewson previously won in 1903, '05 and '08 (that last year was a tie).
   6. Qufini Posted: October 09, 2015 at 06:10 PM (#5059496)
The little-heralded Frank Smith rode his league leading 51 games and 365 innings to the AL pitching MMP. Smith was the only AL pitcher to receive a vote, with a total of three. However, three early ballots also listed Smith as the top AL pitcher in an off-ballot spot so he led at least 6 ballots. The other two did not name any AL pitchers.

Smith's victory marks the third straight AL pitching MMP for the White Sox, following Ed Walsh's wins in '07 and '08. Billy Pierce ('53, '55), Gary Peters ('63) and Joe Horlen ('67) have also won for the pale hose.
   7. Qufini Posted: October 09, 2015 at 06:13 PM (#5059497)
As DL noted, Honus Wagner has been named the NL MMP for a ridiculous 6th straight season and 7th overall. With this victory, Wagner breaks a tie with Mickey Mantle for the most consecutive league MMPs and moves within one of Willie Mays for the highest total.
   8. Qufini Posted: October 09, 2015 at 06:16 PM (#5059503)
Finally, John Henry Lloyd retains his spot as the Negro League MMP. This is the second MMP for Lloyd and the sixth straight for the Philadelphia Giants. Lloyd also ties the record for highest placement by an NeL player set by Rube Foster and 1903 and matched by Lloyd himself in '08.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Adam M
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2775 seconds
41 querie(s) executed