Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Wednesday, March 03, 2021

Most Meritorious Player: 1935 Results

Congratulations to Arky Vaughan on winning the 1935 Most Meritorious Player award!

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Arky Vaughan	134	9	8
Wes Ferrell	110	9	0
Lou Gehrig	108	9	0
Jimmie Foxx	91	8	0
Hank Greenberg	87	8	0
Lefty Grove	71	7	0
Mel Ott…	52	5	0
Ch Gehringer	45	6	0
Josh Gibson	44	5	0
Leroy Matlock	38	3	1
Satchel Paige	27	3	0
Martin Dihigo	25	3	0
Ray Brown	17	2	0
Gabby Hartnett	16	2	0
Augie Galan	13	2	0
Mel Harder	13	2	0
Cy Blanton	11	1	0
Buddy Myer	11	1	0
Joe DiMaggio	7	1	0
Billy Herman	7	1	0
Luke Appling	6	1	0
Dizzy Dean	6	1	0
Joe Medwick	6	1	0
DL from MN Posted: March 03, 2021 at 04:04 PM | 3 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: March 03, 2021 at 04:19 PM (#6007486)
We're getting closer to 1940 which we already completed so player may have been on a ballot previously but not chronologically

Player # times on ballot
Gibson 10
Gehrig 10
Grove 8
DiMaggio 7
Paige 6
Foxx 6
Ott 6
Vaughan 5
Dihigo 5
Galan 5
Greenberg 4
Gehringer 4
Ferrell 4
Ray Brown 4
Hartnett 3
Appling 3
Dean 3

   2. DL from MN Posted: March 03, 2021 at 04:37 PM (#6007495)
Billy Herman and Joe Medwick make a ballot for the first time. That shrinks our HoM elected players who have been eligible but not appeared on a ballot to:

Frank Grant (career ends 1903)
Clark Griffith
Biz Mackey
John McGraw
Quincy Trouppe

Griffith, Grant and McGraw will each get another shot when we do 1893-1900. Mackey's chances to make a ballot are over. Trouppe's best season according to the MLEs was 1942 but we might not have had those MLEs when we had the election.
   3. Qufini Posted: March 03, 2021 at 07:30 PM (#6007540)
Vaughan was the consensus MMP with 8 out of 9 first place votes but a lot of the other races were pretty close.

Wes Ferrell was the pitching MMP, in large part due to his additional contributions with the bat as mentioned by numerous voters. If pitching only was considered, Ferrell might very well have lost out to 4-time champ Lefty Grove.

Ferrell was also the AL MMP, edging Lou Gehrig by 2 points. Ferrell is the first pitcher to win the AL-only award since another guy known for his hitting, Babe Ruth, took home the award in 1919.

Lou Gehrig does win the AL position player MMP, his second straight.

Blanton and Dean were named on one ballot each so I looked at off-ballot positions for NL MM Pitcher. Dean was named first by 6 out of 9 voters, Blanton by the 1, while 2 didn't name a NL pitcher at all. Dean therefore defends his title as the best pitcher in the NL though he didn't come close to repeating as NL MMP.

Finally, Josh Gibson's broader base of support garnered him the Negro League MMP over his Pittsburgh Crawford teammate Leroy Matlock.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2150 seconds
59 querie(s) executed