Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Monday, October 08, 2018

Most Meritorious Player: 1947 Results

Congratulations to Ted Williams, the unanimous Most Meritorious Player of 1947!

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Ted Williams	120	8	8
Ralph Kiner	106	8	0
Warren Spahn	100	8	0
Johnny Mize	83	8	0
Ewell Blackwell	79	7	0
Lou Boudreau	74	7	0
Bob Elliott	57	6	0
Joe Gordon	46	6	0
Joe DiMaggio	35	4	0
Hal Newhouser	32	4	0
Pee Wee Reese	23	3	0
Dutch Leonard	14	2	0
Bob Feller	12	1	0
Augie Galan	10	1	0
Harry Walker	10	1	0
Tommy Henrich	8	1	0
Whitey Kurowski	7	1	0
Vern Stephens	6	1	0
Don Newcombe	6	1	0
George McQuinn	6	1	0
Monte Irvin	6	1	0


DL from MN Posted: October 08, 2018 at 10:13 AM | 6 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: October 08, 2018 at 10:40 AM (#5762277)
This makes the second set of back-to-back MMP for Ted Williams

Player # years on a ballot
Ted Williams 11
Warren Spahn 7
Joe DiMaggio 5
Johnny Mize 4
Lou Boudreau 4
Hal Newhouser 4
Bob Feller 4
Augie Galan 4
Don Newcombe 4
Monte Irvin 4
Joe Gordon 4
Ralph Kiner 3
Pee Wee Reese 3
Vern Stephens 3
   2. DL from MN Posted: October 08, 2018 at 03:31 PM (#5762568)
This is Ted Williams' 4th MMP award and 11th season with MMP votes. Players with 4+ MMP awards and 11+ times on ballot:

Bonds 7/18
Mays 6/16
Wagner 4/11
Williams 4/11
   3. Qufini Posted: October 25, 2018 at 03:30 PM (#5775279)
I'm a little behind this month.

I think that one of the most impressive features of Ted Williams' stretch is that all 4 of his MMPs have been unanimous. That puts him ahead of Mantle (3) and Mays (2) but behind Bonds who won 5 of his 7 MMPs with universal acclaim.

In terms of the other awards, Warren Spahn has won his second pitching MMP, or his first, depending on how you look at it as he received his other award for 1958. Hal Newhouser won his third straight AL pitching MMP, joining Dave Stieb, Roger Clemens and Johan Santana as the only AL pitchers with three-in-a-row. Ralph Kiner picks up the NL position player MMP.

Finally, as DL and I discussed after the last election, I wasn't sure if I would hand out a Negro League player of the year for 1947 or not. Since two eligible players received votes (one in the Negro Leagues proper, one as part of the integration transition), it looks like there will be an award for this year after all. However, it's not clear which player should receive it. So I would appreciate it if everyone would submit their top three Negro League players for 1947.
   4. DL from MN Posted: October 26, 2018 at 11:12 AM (#5775688)
top 3

Henry Kimbro
Sam Jethroe
Minnie Minoso

but none of them made any ballots
   5. Qufini Posted: October 26, 2018 at 03:19 PM (#5775938)
Henry Kimbro
Max Manning
Monte Irvin
   6. Qufini Posted: November 01, 2018 at 09:21 AM (#5780582)
As I suspected, I waited too long before asking for a runoff. Thanks anyway, DL. Instead of the runoff, I'll go back to the actual ballots and declare the NgL player of the year award a tie between Monte Irvin (Newark Eagles) and Don Newcombe (Nashua Dodgers).

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
Hombre Brotani
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2956 seconds
59 querie(s) executed