Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Monday, October 08, 2018

Most Meritorious Player: 1948 Results

Congratulations to our 1948 Most Meritorious Player Stan Musial!

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Stan Musial	118	8	6
Lou Boudreau	111	8	1
Ted Williams	105	8	1
Harry Brecheen	87	8	0
Joe DiMaggio	78	8	0
Johnny Sain	71	7	0
Johnny Mize	55	6	0
Bob Elliott	42	5	0
Ken Keltner	29	3	0
Ralph Kiner	28	4	0
Hal Newhouser	24	3	0
Joe Gordon	23	3	0
Luke Easter	20	2	0
Tommy Henrich	20	3	0
Bob Lemon	14	2	0
Richie Ashburn	9	1	0
Gene Bearden	6	1	0
DL from MN Posted: October 08, 2018 at 10:09 AM | 4 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: November 07, 2018 at 03:57 PM (#5783857)
Player # times on ballot
Stan Musial 13
Ted Williams 12
Richie Ashburn 7
Joe DiMaggio 6
Johnny Mize 5
Lou Boudreau 5
Hal Newhouser 5
Joe Gordon 5
Ralph Kiner 4
Sain, Elliott, Henrich, Lemon 2
   2. DL from MN Posted: November 07, 2018 at 04:00 PM (#5783861)
Players with 13+ ballot appearances and 2+ MMP awards
Bonds 18/7
Mays 16/7
Musial 13/2
Schmidt 13/2
   3. Qufini Posted: November 07, 2018 at 04:53 PM (#5783930)
This is Stan the Man's 2nd MMP award, after previously winning in 1943. However, this is also Musial's 3rd NL MMP ('46) and 4th NL position player MMP ('44).

Lou Boudreau outlasted Ted Williams to win the AL MMP. Boudreau is the first shortstop to win the award since Luke Appling in 1943.

Harry the Cat won this year's pitching MMP, making a solid sweep in the NL for the Cardinals. Brecheen is the first Cardinal to win the award since Mort Cooper in 1942.

Hal Newhouser outpolled Bob Lemon to win his fourth consecutive AL pitching MMP. That breaks a tie with Dave Stieb and Johan Santana of the most consecutive AL awards. Will Walter Johnson steal the crown once we cover his career?

Last but not least, Luke Easter has been named the Negro League MMP for the final chronological season of this award.
   4. bjhanke Posted: November 11, 2018 at 03:28 PM (#5785722)
Just as a thank you, I appreciated the nice things that Mr. C said about me over on the discussion thread. However, I'm not sure I deserve them. All the time, I was remembering the 1948 series as the Boston vs. Boston series, which is why I thought there were not travel days. But I was completely wrong. It was the Braves vs. the Indians! Still no travel days, but that was just luck. Mr. C gets all the credit for doing the work - he rechecked his numbers and found a typo. All I did was advocate for Stan Musial. Anyway, Thanks, Mr. C! - Brock

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
cHiEf iMpaCt oFfiCEr JE
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2269 seconds
59 querie(s) executed