Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Wednesday, September 03, 2014

Most Meritorious Player: 1957 Results

Congratulations to Mickey Mantle for being elected the unanimous 1957 MMP

Player Name	pts	ballots	1sts
Mickey Mantle	180	12	12
Ted Williams	165	12	0
Willie Mays	150	12	0
Henry Aaron	145	12	0
Eddie Mathews	127	12	0
Nellie Fox	119	12	0
Ernie Banks	92	11	0
Stan Musial	91	10	0
Frank Robinson	45	6	0
Frank Sullivan	43	6	0
Jim Bunning	32	5	0
Roy Sievers	28	4	0
Don Drysdale	18	3	0
Gil McDougald	16	2	0
Yogi Berra	9	1	0
DL from MN Posted: September 03, 2014 at 04:25 PM | 9 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: September 03, 2014 at 04:29 PM (#4784831)
3rd MMP award and 8th time on ballot for Mantle. Mays and Aaron are tied with Schmidt for the lead with 13 times on ballot. 9th ballot for Frank Robinson, 8th ballot for Mathews and Berra, 7th for Musial, 5th for Williams, 4th for Bunning and Drysdale.
   2. DL from MN Posted: September 03, 2014 at 04:40 PM (#4784849)
Winners of multiple MMP awards

Mays: 5
Mantle, Morgan: 3
Ripken, Robinson, Schmidt, Trout, Yastrzemski: 2
   3. Qufini Posted: September 03, 2014 at 05:41 PM (#4784903)
Mickey Mantle joins Jackie Robinson, Willie Mays, Joe Morgan, Cal Ripken Jr. and Mike Trout as back-to-back MMPs. However, Mantle did something nobody else has done. He was a unanimous winner both times. That's pretty impressive.
   4. Qufini Posted: September 03, 2014 at 05:43 PM (#4784904)
In a bit of a surprise, Frank Sullivan of the Boston Red Sox narrowly beat out Hall of Famer Jim Bunning for the pitching MMP. It wasn't a great year for pitching as Sullivan and Bunning finished 10th and 11th overall. Dennis Eckersley ('79) and Roger Clemens ('86, '87) have also won pitching MMPs for Boston.
   5. Qufini Posted: September 03, 2014 at 05:46 PM (#4784907)
Willie Mays is the NL MMP for the 6th time, tying Mike Schmidt for the record. However, this is the first time Mays led his league without also being the overall MMP.
   6. Qufini Posted: September 03, 2014 at 05:47 PM (#4784908)
Don Drysdale is the NL pitching MMP for the second time, having already won the award in 1964. He also lost out to Warren Spahn in a tiebreaker in 1961.
   7. John (You Can Call Me Grandma) Murphy Posted: September 03, 2014 at 06:37 PM (#4784943)
My ballot basically matched the results here, except for the last two picks. Guess it really doesn't matter by that point, anyway.

   8. Mike_L Posted: September 03, 2014 at 08:03 PM (#4784989)
Long time lurker, first time posting. I noticed how close the voting for AL MMPitcher was. Sullivan got 6 votes, Bunning got 5 votes, with one voter not specifying his choice.
   9. DL from MN Posted: September 04, 2014 at 01:45 PM (#4785454)
4 - Hall of What?

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2852 seconds
41 querie(s) executed