Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

You are here > Home > Hall of Merit > Discussion
Hall of Merit
— A Look at Baseball's All-Time Best

Tuesday, November 07, 2023

Most Meritorious Player: 2023 Ballot

Here are the specific rules for this election:

Candidate Eligibility: Any North American professional baseball player is eligible for the Most Meritorious Player (MMP) award including players on independent teams. Voters should consider the player’s on-field contribution to Major League Baseball (MLB) team(s) in that season only. If part of the season was spent outside MLB, that value may be considered as well. However, the player’s on-field contribution should be judged in relation to the highest level major league, not relative to a minor league. A season may include playoff or World Series games but does not include spring training or exhibition games. No credit will be given for games not played due to injury, wartime service or contract holdouts.

Ballot Length: For 2023, each voter should rank 15 players.

Voter eligibility: All voters who did not vote in the previous year’s election must post a preliminary ballot in the ballot discussion thread. All voters must fill out a complete ballot. Voters must briefly explain their ballot choices. One person, one vote; anyone determined to have voted with multiple accounts will be banned and their votes will be disallowed. The MMP ballot committee has authority to exclude any ballot that does not meet these requirements.

Scoring: Points will be given in descending order with the highest-ranked player receiving 15 points, the second highest 14 points, and so on until the last player on the ballot receives 1 point. The player with the highest point total will be named the Most Meritorious Player. In case of a tie, the tiebreaker will be number of first place votes. If the tiebreaker does not determine a winner the players will share the title of Most Meritorious Player.

Balloting will close at 4pm EST on November 22 2023

Anyone can vote, even if you do not normally participate in Hall of Merit discussions. If you have never participated in an MMP election, just post a preliminary ballot in the discussion thread by 21 November 2023.

DL from MN Posted: November 07, 2023 at 10:05 AM | 12 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Related News:

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. DL from MN Posted: November 07, 2023 at 11:21 AM (#6146763)
Ballot is open
   2. cookiedabookie Posted: November 07, 2023 at 12:09 PM (#6146765)
1. Shohei Ohtani
2. Ronald Acuña Jr.
3. Mookie Betts
4. Freddie Freeman
5. Matt Olson
6. Marcus Semien
7. Gerrit Cole
8. Corey Seager
9. Francisco Lindor
10. Juan Soto
11. Corbin Carroll
12. Kyle Tucker
13. Yandy Díaz
14. Julio Rodríguez
15. Sonny Gray
   3. kcgard2 Posted: November 07, 2023 at 06:54 PM (#6146793)
1. Shohei Ohtani
2. Mookie Betts
3. Ronald Acuña
4. Freddie Freeman
5. Matt Olson
6. Marcus Semien
7. Gerrit Cole
8. Francisco Lindor
9. Logan Webb
10. Sonny Gray
11. Corey Seager
12. Corbin Carroll
13. Julio Rodriguez
14. Juan Soto
15. Austin Riley
   4. Bleed the Freak Posted: November 17, 2023 at 11:54 AM (#6147444)
1. Shohei Ohtani
2. Ronald Acuña
3. Mookie Betts
4. Corey Seager
5. Matt Olson
6. Freddie Freeman
7. Gerrit Cole
8. Marcus Semien
9. Corbin Carroll
10. Juan Soto
11. Francisco Lindor
12. Kyle Tucker
13. Logan Webb
14. Blake Snell
15. Sonny Gray
   5. DL from MN Posted: November 22, 2023 at 11:22 AM (#6147939)
Last day to vote but only 4 ballots (mine will be in later today)
   6. DL from MN Posted: November 22, 2023 at 11:51 AM (#6147940)
2023 ballot (includes playoff value)

1) Shohei Ohtani
2) Mookie Betts
3) Corey Seager - great postseason moves him up the list
4) Gerrit Cole
5) Ronald Acuna - fangraphs hates his defense
6) Marcus Semien
7) Matt Olson
8) Francisco Lindor
9) Gunnar Henderson
10) Freddie Freeman
11) Blake Snell
12) Austin Riley
13) Wander Franco
14) Adley Rutschman
15) Ha-Seong Kim

16-20) Julio Rodriguez, Logan Webb, Sonny Gray, JP Crawford, Ketel Marte
21-25) Sean Murphy, Corbin Carroll, Gabriel Moreno, Will Smith, Luis Robert
   7. DL from MN Posted: November 22, 2023 at 01:44 PM (#6147958)
Do people want an extension due to the holiday? I can extend to next Tuesday.
   8. DL from MN Posted: November 22, 2023 at 04:40 PM (#6147984)
Everyone who had a prelim ballot voted
   9. cookiedabookie Posted: November 24, 2023 at 12:11 PM (#6148088)
Not sure we'll get any more votes
   10. lieiam Posted: November 25, 2023 at 01:16 PM (#6148157)
I was hoping to vote but things are crazy and don't seem to be letting up anytime soon... so I know I won't be able to create a ballot.
   11. DL from MN Posted: November 28, 2023 at 11:21 AM (#6148421)
I'm going to call the election then. 4 ballots is really disappointing.
   12. kcgard2 Posted: November 28, 2023 at 05:45 PM (#6148483)
4 ballots is very disappointing, but there's pretty much a runaway winner and pretty clear top 3 anyway. More votes would only matter for bottom of ballot placements. I guess that's my silver lining?

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.



<< Back to main

BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF


Thanks to
for his generous support.


You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.


Page rendered in 0.2546 seconds
41 querie(s) executed