Baseball for the Thinking Fan

Login | Register | Feedback

btf_logo
You are here > Home > Baseball Newsstand > Baseball Primer Newsblog > Discussion
Baseball Primer Newsblog
— The Best News Links from the Baseball Newsstand

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Home run robbery by Braves’ Ronald Acuña turns into inside-the-park homer

Atlanta Braves star Ronald Acuña Jr. had the chance to make one of his best plays of the season on Tuesday. It turned into an embarrassing lowlight instead.

The play started when Philadelphia Phillies utility man Scott Kingery hit a long fly ball to center field, which Acuña tracked to the wall and made a leaping catch. Acuña appeared to have hauled it in, but didn’t complete the process of the catch and saw the ball leak out of his glove as he hauled it down.

Rather than immediately pick up the ball and throw it into the infield, Acuña spent precious seconds waving his arms to appeal to the umpires that he had still made the catch.

Many of the inside-the-park home runs of the current era are reliant on poor outfield play of one form or another- this, however, feels a set beyond that.

 

QLE Posted: September 11, 2019 at 04:23 AM | 37 comment(s) Login to Bookmark
  Tags: inside-the-park home run, ronald acuna, scott kingery

Reader Comments and Retorts

Go to end of page

Statements posted here are those of our readers and do not represent the BaseballThinkFactory. Names are provided by the poster and are not verified. We ask that posters follow our submission policy. Please report any inappropriate comments.

   1. The usual palaver and twaddle (Met Fan Charlie) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 10:49 AM (#5878376)
Like David Cone arguing with the 1st base ump as a Braves baserunner scooted around second and third to score?
   2. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 11:22 AM (#5878393)
edit... nevermind, I didn't know the definition of a catch. The release clearly was not "voluntary and intentional."

Anyway, stupid play. Good thing they benched him the other week for peacocking on the field.
   3. Jose Goes to Absurd Lengths for 50K Posted: September 11, 2019 at 11:30 AM (#5878397)
What was Acuna possibly arguing there? I would argue that's worse than Nyjer Morgan. Morgan simply didn't realize where the ball was, Acuna knew where it was but was too busy arguing. Like MetFanCharlie David Cone was the first thing I thought of too.
   4. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 11:41 AM (#5878400)
The arguing looks kind of innocent to me. "Hey guys, you might not realize it, but I caught the ball!" Stupid but innocent.

However, it also looks to me like the ball may have left his glove due to an unnecessary celebratory flourish. No need to snap it behind his back like that. I think he was trying to put an exclamation point on it.
   5. Jose Goes to Absurd Lengths for 50K Posted: September 11, 2019 at 11:56 AM (#5878401)
Yeah the arguing isn't really anything awful if not for the fact that it was a live ball. That second or two he spent arguing is pretty much the difference between a triple and a home run. I guess my use of the word "worse" is probably wrong, "less understandable" is probably a better way of comparing it to Morgan.
   6. snapper (history's 42nd greatest monster) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 12:02 PM (#5878402)
However, it also looks to me like the ball may have left his glove due to an unnecessary celebratory flourish. No need to snap it behind his back like that. I think he was trying to put an exclamation point on it.

Yeah. Looks like he started "Woo-hooing" and celebrating before he finished the catch.
   7. What did Billy Ripken have against ElRoy Face? Posted: September 11, 2019 at 12:24 PM (#5878409)
However, it also looks to me like the ball may have left his glove due to an unnecessary celebratory flourish. No need to snap it behind his back like that. I think he was trying to put an exclamation point on it.
Proving that he can do dumb preening on near-homers on both sides of the ball!
   8. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 12:42 PM (#5878413)
Acuna now has 5.2 WAR. But if we deduct the value of his stupid plays, it would be more like 5.15 WAR.
   9. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 12:43 PM (#5878414)
Acuna also leads the NL in both Ks and Caught Stealing. What a monster. (Also, how often does that happen?)
   10. The usual palaver and twaddle (Met Fan Charlie) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 12:54 PM (#5878416)
However, it also looks to me like the ball may have left his glove due to an unnecessary celebratory flourish. No need to snap it behind his back like that. I think he was trying to put an exclamation point on it.

Yeah. Looks like he started "Woo-hooing" and celebrating before he finished the catch.


Leon Lett, anyone?
   11. Edmundo got dem ol' Kozma blues again mama Posted: September 11, 2019 at 12:59 PM (#5878417)
And give some credit to Scottie Jetpax for busting it the whole way. Maikel Franco probably would have turned off to the dugout between home and first.
   12. Bote Man Posted: September 11, 2019 at 01:22 PM (#5878421)
Savage!
   13. Barry`s_Lazy_Boy Posted: September 11, 2019 at 01:25 PM (#5878422)
Most 21 year olds are making this mistake in high-A ball.

   14. Karl from NY Posted: September 11, 2019 at 02:31 PM (#5878437)
If he wants the umpire to believe he caught the ball, he pretty much has to commit to that and ignore the ball, right? If he chases the ball, then that's a pretty clear indication he knows he dropped it.
   15. snapper (history's 42nd greatest monster) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 02:40 PM (#5878443)
If he wants the umpire to believe he caught the ball, he pretty much has to commit to that and ignore the ball, right? If he chases the ball, then that's a pretty clear indication he knows he dropped it.

To what end? Even if the ump believes him and calls the out, he'll be busted on replay, or simply when he has to pick the ball up to throw it in.
   16. Sweatpants Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:01 PM (#5878448)
Acuna also leads the NL in both Ks and Caught Stealing. What a monster. (Also, how often does that happen?)
George Grantham did this in 1923, and he also led the league in errors to complete what Bill James called the Juan Samuel triple crown. Sadly, its namesake never managed to achieve this feat himself.
   17. Ziggy is done with Dominican discotheques Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:11 PM (#5878450)
My first guess for a guy to lead the league in Ks and caught stealing was Jose Canseco. Good guess, but no. Despite being 7th all-time on the K list, he only led the league once, in 1998. He was close to leading the league in caught stealing that year, but was three caught-steals from carrying home the "title".
   18. Ziggy is done with Dominican discotheques Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:13 PM (#5878451)
It's going to be hard to do. K leaders are usually slugs and leading the league in caught-stealing requires lots of attempts, and you've got to be speedy for that. But speedy guys who strike out a lot usually aren't worth a roster spot, or don't play full-time, and so don't have the opportunity to lead the league in either category.
   19. Ziggy is done with Dominican discotheques Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:14 PM (#5878454)
Ah ha! Reggie, 1970! There's one. (Sorry for three posts in a row.)
   20. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:15 PM (#5878455)
My first guess for a guy to lead the league in Ks and caught stealing was Jose Canseco. Good guess, but no.

Me too.
   21. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:24 PM (#5878458)
Bobby Bonds got very close in 1979. 1st in CS, 2nd in Ks.
   22. Never Give an Inge (Dave) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:40 PM (#5878463)
Ray Lankford did it in 1992
   23. Never Give an Inge (Dave) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 03:54 PM (#5878466)

Lankford was actually quite valuable in 1992, putting up a 143 OPS+ and 4.6 WAR.
And while he led the NL in errors by a CFer in 1991, and had -11 Rfield in 1992, he didn't even crack the top 10 in errors in 1992.
   24. WSPanic Posted: September 11, 2019 at 04:23 PM (#5878470)
If he wants the umpire to believe he caught the ball, he pretty much has to commit to that and ignore the ball, right? If he chases the ball, then that's a pretty clear indication he knows he dropped it.


Doesn't the existence of replay basically negate this theory? You have to keep playing and let the replay guys work it out.
   25. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 04:29 PM (#5878474)
No, the weight that replay gives to the call on the field is still a factor.

In this case you're talking about giving up one base vs potentially bamboozling the umpire into subtracting three bases from the other team.
   26. Never Give an Inge (Dave) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 04:35 PM (#5878477)

Do the umpires ever overturn a call on the field anymore *without* going to replay?
   27. snapper (history's 42nd greatest monster) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 04:37 PM (#5878479)
No, the weight that replay gives to the call on the field is still a factor.

In this case you're talking about giving up one base vs potentially bamboozling the umpire into subtracting three bases from the other team.


There's no way that all four umps and the replay guy are going to miss the fact that 1) Acuna has no baseball to throw back in at the end of the play and 2) the ball is lying on the ground 10 feet from him.

There was no attempt to throw that could explain the dropped ball. Once Acuna is back on the ground and not in possession of a baseball, the call is crystal clear.
   28. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 04:59 PM (#5878481)
No, I don't mean he could fool them that the ball wasn't on the ground. He would try and fool them into thinking that he had completed a catch. If he just confidently moseyed over to the ball, they might think "oh I guess he meant to do that."
   29. DCA Posted: September 11, 2019 at 06:03 PM (#5878488)
Also George Burns 1913
   30. KronicFatigue Posted: September 11, 2019 at 06:38 PM (#5878495)
PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 04:59 PM (#5878481)
No, I don't mean he could fool them that the ball wasn't on the ground. He would try and fool them into thinking that he had completed a catch. If he just confidently moseyed over to the ball, they might think "oh I guess he meant to do that."


Cosign. I liken it to when a NFL player "fumbles". Picture a QB pulling his arm back and losing the ball right at that moment where he might be throwing. If he instantly looks around to recover the "fumble" it's a fumble in my mind. If he confidently stands there and acts like it's an incomplete pass, that's where my mind goes. Ditto a guy whose knee may or may not be touching the ground. How they react influences my opinion.

I will say that when I first saw Acuna reacting, I couldn't quite figure out what he was carrying on about. I waiver between total embarrassment "help me out guys" and puffing up hoping to trick the umpires. But now I lean towards the latter.
   31. ERROR---Jolly Old St. Nick Posted: September 11, 2019 at 08:14 PM (#5878518)
Dumb play for sure, but to me it looked like a catch. YMMV.
   32. snapper (history's 42nd greatest monster) Posted: September 11, 2019 at 09:26 PM (#5878532)
Dumb play for sure, but to me it looked like a catch. YMMV.

How? The ball is gone long before he reaches into the glove, basically it comes loose as he lands. There's no argument that he lost the ball trying to make the transfer.
   33. PreservedFish Posted: September 11, 2019 at 10:46 PM (#5878544)
I initially thought it was a catch, because I thought he had it securely and only lost it on the celebration flourish, which I analogized to a dropped transfer in a DP turn. But the rules clearly state that the ball must leave the glove intentionally, which it clearly did not do in this case.
   34. Scott Lange Posted: September 12, 2019 at 07:51 AM (#5878594)
Dumb play for sure, but to me it looked like a catch. YMMV.

To me, 1+1=3. YMMV.
   35. Rusty Priske Posted: September 12, 2019 at 09:05 AM (#5878601)
I think that really, he did catch the ball and dropped it AFTER the catch was already completed.

HOWEVER, the rules are pretty clear. He blew it. He turned a catch into not-a-catch by not following through on the play.

Also, however, that was NOT an Inside-the-park homerun. That was a four base error.
   36. snapper (history's 42nd greatest monster) Posted: September 12, 2019 at 09:28 AM (#5878605)
Also, however, that was NOT an Inside-the-park homerun. That was a four base error.

I'd go double and two-base error. It was a pretty spectacular "catch", hard to give the batter nothing on that.
   37. The usual palaver and twaddle (Met Fan Charlie) Posted: September 12, 2019 at 11:35 AM (#5878634)
Also George Burns 1913


Say goodnight, Gracie.

You must be Registered and Logged In to post comments.

 

 

<< Back to main

News

All News | Prime News

Old-School Newsstand


BBTF Partner

Dynasty League Baseball

Support BBTF

donate

Thanks to
1k5v3L
for his generous support.

Bookmarks

You must be logged in to view your Bookmarks.

Hot Topics

NewsblogAstros owner Crane expects to hire new manager by Feb. 3
(2 - 5:41am, Jan 19)
Last: MuttsIdolCochrane

NewsblogMLB releases statement clearing Angels’ Mike Trout after HGH accusation
(9 - 5:38am, Jan 19)
Last: Sunday silence

NewsblogCubs Fans Boo Chairman Tom Ricketts at Team Convention
(2 - 5:26am, Jan 19)
Last: Sunday silence

NewsblogCould baseball's sign-stealing scandal lead to a manager's job for Ozzie Guillen?
(10 - 5:23am, Jan 19)
Last: Sunday silence

NewsblogSign stealing in baseball is nothing new. The punishment now being meted out is absurd.
(91 - 5:17am, Jan 19)
Last: Sunday silence

NewsblogMLB Rumors: Here's where investigation into 2018 Red Sox stands
(22 - 5:08am, Jan 19)
Last: Sunday silence

NewsblogOT - Soccer Thread - January, 2020
(170 - 2:10am, Jan 19)
Last: Fancy Crazy Town Banana Pants Handle

NewsblogRyan Thibs’ Hall of Fame Tracker
(1114 - 11:42pm, Jan 18)
Last: Eric J can SABER all he wants to

NewsblogStolen away: Brooklyn pitcher recalls ’51 sign-stealing scam
(6 - 11:13pm, Jan 18)
Last: Walt Davis

NewsblogOT - NBA Thread 2020
(517 - 10:44pm, Jan 18)
Last: tshipman

NewsblogRockies to honor Larry Walker by retiring his jersey number
(4 - 10:13pm, Jan 18)
Last: puck

NewsblogMissouri man charged with impersonating former MLB pitcher Omar Olivares
(19 - 9:49pm, Jan 18)
Last: Snowboy

NewsblogMLB Ineligible List Ends at Death for Banned Players
(13 - 9:08pm, Jan 18)
Last: The Yankee Clapper

NewsblogCarlos Beltran's "Alleged" Niece Is Now Going Off Saying Jose Altuve and Alex Bregman Wore Electronic Buzzers Under Their Jerseys - Barstool Sports
(127 - 8:41pm, Jan 18)
Last: Los Angeles El Hombre of Anaheim

Newsblog“Hire ’Tek!”: Red Sox fans make pitch for Varitek as manager
(11 - 8:22pm, Jan 18)
Last: the Hugh Jorgan returns

Page rendered in 0.3408 seconds
46 querie(s) executed